Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a good one. Next time I make it I'll try adding the flaked ham because I thought it needed a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
this is a wonderful recipe! I substituted 4 teaspoons of vanilla extract for the sherry; felt a bit scared the first time I made it because of the odd combination of ingredients, but this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This soup was awesome! I used the dry beans. I also read the other reviews and only pureed half of the mixture and left half of the beans in the soup and also eliminated the two cups of water. I like having some beans in the soup rather than it being all liquid. I made it for a tailgate party and everyone loved it. It has a little kick to it, which was the perfect amount of spice. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this soup. I love MAKING this soup! Rich, hearty, a bit of spice...my husband loves it too. Sometimes, I add a bit of chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Good but way too much work for just a good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
great recipe...doctored it a little by adding half a bunch of chopped cilantro and 3-4 chopped sweet potatoes. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Needs work. Added LOTS more cumin, should have used less balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This soup is exquisitely fantastic. I used Better Than Bouillon ham base + water in place of the chicken broth. This is certain to become a family favorite. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Fantastic soup. For added flavor I cooked the vegetables in bacon fat instead of olive oil and omitted the 2 cups of water. I will definitely make this again. I served the soup with brown rice, sour cream, and green onions. Loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I loved this soup - family thought it was OK. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States