Cardamom Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Although I followed the baking instructions and only baked them for 60 minutes, they burned on the bottom. I had successfully tried the Peppermint Meringues from this website the day before, but they cooked at a lower temperature, 225 deg. for 90 minutes. The cardamom flavor was extremely subtle, hardly discernable. The meringues were an unattractive brown shade due to the cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Very light dessert and easy to make. I used splenda instead of sugar and it was a little too sweet. I love cardamom, but I have to admit that I'm not really sure it went well in this recipe. I think almond extract would probably go better. I used an airbake sheet and a silicone mat and had beautiful golden crisp meringues in about 75 minutes at 285 degrees (my oven runs a little cool). The texture was light and wonderful. It would make an excellent base for a layered fruit and cream dessert or to make a bowl or base for ice cream, although I would definitely decrease the sugar. The texture was less of a meringue and more of a light airy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I followed the recipe just before the part where the cardamom is added, but instead of the cardamom I used 3/4 tsp ground cloves because I love cloves. I also adjusted the oven temp to 250 when I noticed the cookies were beginning to crack, and leaving them in for only an hour cooked them completely. While I was beating the egg whites I never did get really stiff peaks, so I tried adding 1/8 tsp cream of tartar in the hopes it would set up better, but it must have been really humid in my house because the most they could muster was a little stiffer than a soft peak, which made the cookies flat like medallions instead of pointy like kisses. They still tasted great (gourmet, even!), but next time I think I'll only add 1/2 tsp cloves because 3/4 tsp gives the cookies a little too much bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
These were interesting. I guess I don't like cardamom enough to have it as a main flavor of anything. I'm used to cooking with it in asian/Indian dishes, used as a flavor enhancer. But I guess you can use any flavoring (mint, amaretto) and get great mereingues from it. Great for a low-carb snack if you have to prepare one for a pot-luck or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My family just didn't care for the cardamom flavoring. They said the cookies reminded them of the taste of bratwurst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
These cookies were quick to prepare, easy to make, and fabulous! I had no problems with stickiness, although one batch was fluffier than the other. I used chocolate chips and dried cranberries for a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I was so excited about this recipe, but the kids wouldn't even try them,and my husband didn't care for them. So I took them over to the inlaws, who said they tasted medicinal. I guess they're not my cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
My husband is Iranian, and cardamon is a common spice among their recipes. We loved them specially with Chay (hot Iranian tea). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I loved this recipe it wasn't to hard, and my family likes it and want's it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These actually are the first meringue I've ever made that turned out. Maybe it's because I live in FL and it's usually very humid. I will definitely make these again. Next time I will use super-fine sugar, as mine were a little gritty. Also I learned that it's best to whip the egg whites to soft peaks before adding the sugar. I left them to cool in the oven, after baking for 1hour, and they were solid throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States