Cardamom Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I loved this recipe it wasn't to hard, and my family likes it and want's it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
I thought the cookies tasted 'different', but I couldn't stop eating them! Definitely will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Everyone loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Although I followed the baking instructions and only baked them for 60 minutes, they burned on the bottom. I had successfully tried the Peppermint Meringues from this website the day before, but they cooked at a lower temperature, 225 deg. for 90 minutes. The cardamom flavor was extremely subtle, hardly discernable. The meringues were an unattractive brown shade due to the cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
My husband is Iranian, and cardamon is a common spice among their recipes. We loved them specially with Chay (hot Iranian tea). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I had never eaten a merainge before this. I chose the recipe because it does not call for egg yolks or any oil. I think I overdid it on the cardamon..but more than anything I think I am just not a merainge fan. The kids claimed they did not like them, but kept munching on them. Maybe I will try a different flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Quick and easy! If you love meringue cookies! Special and different enough for gift giving, but package carefully! Great with coffee or chai!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I was so excited about this recipe, but the kids wouldn't even try them,and my husband didn't care for them. So I took them over to the inlaws, who said they tasted medicinal. I guess they're not my cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
These were interesting. I guess I don't like cardamom enough to have it as a main flavor of anything. I'm used to cooking with it in asian/Indian dishes, used as a flavor enhancer. But I guess you can use any flavoring (mint, amaretto) and get great mereingues from it. Great for a low-carb snack if you have to prepare one for a pot-luck or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Very light dessert and easy to make. I used splenda instead of sugar and it was a little too sweet. I love cardamom, but I have to admit that I'm not really sure it went well in this recipe. I think almond extract would probably go better. I used an airbake sheet and a silicone mat and had beautiful golden crisp meringues in about 75 minutes at 285 degrees (my oven runs a little cool). The texture was light and wonderful. It would make an excellent base for a layered fruit and cream dessert or to make a bowl or base for ice cream, although I would definitely decrease the sugar. The texture was less of a meringue and more of a light airy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States