Cardamom Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This recipe was fabulous! I have made it several times, with magnificent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Unfortunately without a real mixer (besides mixing by hand with a whisk or using my food processor) I wasn't able to get the peaks needed and they stayed runny. Tried twice and threw out the mix both times. Next time I will have to buy a mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docljj
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Loved this recipe but added 3/4 teaspoon vanilla instead of the cardamon. Easy to substitute a favorite spice as other reviews suggested. I made these for Halloween adding chocolate chips for "eyes" after baking. Each little "ghost" had its own special features with cracks looking like a mouth! I made each meringue with a heaping tablespoon. Baked at 275* for 60 minutes. A light, tasty treat with lots of possibilities. I had one that ended up looking like a Christmas tree, h-m-m..... think I'll add some green food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love, love, love cardamom...but I just don't know about it in a meringue. Also, the granular sugar gave them a little bit of a grainy appearance. I did cook them at 225 for 90 minutes then just left them to cool in the oven, and they were cooked perfectly. I just can't decide if I really like them or not. If you love cardamom, try them, maybe you'll like them more than me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I love cardamom, but this recipe calls for too much. The taste was overpowering. I will probably make these again, but reduce the amount to 1/2 teaspoon or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I liked the smell of the cardamom, so was hopeful about this adventure I would give it NO stars, but my friends gave it an "Interesting... like eating perfume" and would not let me throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These actually are the first meringue I've ever made that turned out. Maybe it's because I live in FL and it's usually very humid. I will definitely make these again. Next time I will use super-fine sugar, as mine were a little gritty. Also I learned that it's best to whip the egg whites to soft peaks before adding the sugar. I left them to cool in the oven, after baking for 1hour, and they were solid throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I followed the recipe just before the part where the cardamom is added, but instead of the cardamom I used 3/4 tsp ground cloves because I love cloves. I also adjusted the oven temp to 250 when I noticed the cookies were beginning to crack, and leaving them in for only an hour cooked them completely. While I was beating the egg whites I never did get really stiff peaks, so I tried adding 1/8 tsp cream of tartar in the hopes it would set up better, but it must have been really humid in my house because the most they could muster was a little stiffer than a soft peak, which made the cookies flat like medallions instead of pointy like kisses. They still tasted great (gourmet, even!), but next time I think I'll only add 1/2 tsp cloves because 3/4 tsp gives the cookies a little too much bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and the results were really great. I love the subtle cardamom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My family just didn't care for the cardamom flavoring. They said the cookies reminded them of the taste of bratwurst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States