Cardamom Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I only made half a recipe in a loaf pan to see if I liked the flavor combination... they haven't cooled completely yet so haven't tasted any but the combination of brown sugar/butter/honey/cardamom smelled absolutely wonderful while baking. I compressed the bars again when I took them out of the oven, and by cooling COMPLETELY I'm anxious to see if that eliminates the crumbling problem that other reviewers have reported. Later...yes, they did come out of the pan and cut in bars perfectly. I didn't use the foil either, just sprayed the glass pan very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Loved these! I used whole cardamom and ground (with a mortar and pestle)the seeds, that's always a stronger flavor so I reduced the cardamom to 1 teas. Other than that made as recipe directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Fragrant, delicious, easy. Just the right amount of cardamom for me. I've tried variations with great success -- dried mangoes and coconut and banana chips; dried cherries and walnuts, whatever you like, just keep similar proportions to the orig. recipe. Mashing it flatter in the pan just after removing from the oven was a good idea someone mentioned, my bars did not fall apart at all. I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I changed this review from a 4 to 5 stars; at first taste, after I put them in the fridge to cool was all-right, but a bit too hard and crumbly. After I wrapped in foil and left on the counter they softened up to a nice and chewy granola bar. My son loved them; I added dates, pecans, raisins and mini marshmallows! YUM!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I brought this to work today & everyone loved it. I only had about a half T of honey so I used 1/2 T Molasses & 2 T Sugar Free Syrup. A bit less Cardamom. Toasted Walnuts, Slivered Almonds & Sunflower seeds. Took it out at 23 minutes because I felt like the sunflower seeds were starting to get too dark. Delish! It ended up Granola, but everyone was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
OMGoodness! are these goooood. I just tried one as soon as they were ready and am dying to have another. I'll have to be strong.....Followed the recipe except for reducing the butter to 4 tbsp with success (just couldn't bring myself to go all the way :) and sugar to 1/4 c. Also used dried cranberries and toasted cashews. They were a little brown at 30 minutes so will bake 20 minutes next time. I need to have just one more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
absolutely LOVED this! the bars were chewy, just the way I like my granola bars, and all the flavors melded together so nicely. It really is a dangerous recipe, because I could make them all the time! In fact, I think I will!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is so good! I made some changes: I used about 1/4 cup brown sugar, 4 tablespoons honey, 4 tablespoons (slightly salted) butter, 1/2 cup of cranberries instead of raisins (goes very well with cardamom!), 1/2 cup of walnuts, 2 cups of oats, added 1/3 cup coconut flakes, and two heaped teaspoons of ground cardamom. I let it cool for one hour before cutting and the result was perfect. Oh, I did use the tip of another user to press it really hard before baking and also right after baking. I think this made the cutting after cooling much easier. They didn't fall apart at all. Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I whipped these up in no time and served them to some friends and family - all of them gave rave reviews. Personally I would cut the cardamom in half and perhaps add some cinnamon. I recommend waiting to cut the bars. They were prone to fall apart even after being out of the oven cooling for 15 minutes. So I packed them in with the foil from the pan to keep them together and cut them an hour later. Only one fell apart. I subbed pecans for walnuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
my hubby and I love these....our kids however are not old enough to be open to trying a new kind of granola bar...anyway...we will make these again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States