Cardamom Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I didn't really like the cardamom flavor in the granola bars, however, all of my kids ate them. I did add chocolate chips to them and didn't use the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Thanks. I used applesauce instead of butter, splenda instead of brown sugar, and left out the cardamom. These were good, and they would have also tasted good as no bake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I should've followed my gut on this one. There's WAY too much cardamom (and I only used about half called for because I was using the pods and got tired of crushing them open!). And a couple tablespoons too much butter, so they look and feel greasy. They did not need 30 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Great stuff! I used craisins and since I'm allergic to nuts, used some gluten-free chocolate rice puff cereal and coconut flakes. Added a 1/4 cup of Enjoy Life chocolate chips too. Will add them well after mixing in the heated butter/sugar/honey mix so they don't melt! Can't wait to try this basic recipe with cinnamon instead of cardamom, which my 7-year-old didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LompocCook
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These were really good, and I love the cardamon flavor. I took the advice of several other reviewers and used dried cranberries instead of raisins, added just a little less brown sugar, and made sure to press the mixture together really well and let them cool completely before cutting. I also mixed in a little ground flax seed for added fiber. They held together ok, but the end pieces were pretty crumbly. I saved the pieces that crumbled as I was cutting them and used them as a topper for vanilla yogurt--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Who knew you could make your own granola bars?? I was afraid I'd let the butter/sugar/honey boil a bit too long, but they came out perfectly. I did use the tin foil (saturated with cooking spray). The bars sliced up nicely with minimal crumbling. I love the peppery taste of cardamom, but this was a bit much and needs to be cut back to 1 tsp. I can't wait to try this again as there is so much you can change up - the fruit, the nuts, the spice, adding chocolate morsels etc. I love recipes like this that inspire my creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
They did not hold there shape as much as I would have liked them to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I should have followed other reviews with regards to the issue of the bars holding together. The taste and smell was wonderful, but it was falling apart so I put it back in the oven and I overcooked it. Don't cook it for too much longer - otherwise you'll get granola :) which was still yummy. I used it to top yogurt, and well, I just ate it with a spoon because it was so good. I'll have to leave it cool next time before cutting to see how it works, or try patting it down after it comes out of the oven like a couple others said to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Fantastic flavor but fell apart and became more granola than bar. Next time will add an egg white and reduce the wet ingredients. Really versatile recipe. You could add salted roasted edamame/soy nuts, crasins, flax, sesame....go for it! Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My first granola bars turned out great for our long bike ride! I substituted walnuts for toasted sliced almonds and added .5t more of ground cardamom. Next time I think I'll add a bit more raisin or mix it up with dark chocolate and wheat germ. Very sweet and tasty granola bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States