Cardamom Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
I absolutely loved this cookie. I found the dough a little sticky to work with and you must be very careful with the cooking time as it cooks very quickly. I think this is a cookie that adults would probably enjoy more than kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
For those of you allergic to wheat & gluten, I made these wonderful cookies with a combo of sorghum, rice & coconut flour. I'm also allergic to almonds so used hazelnuts instead. Added extra cardamom, extra lemon zest & a sprinkle of anise seed. Even used Earth Balance vegan butter. And they came out light, flaky and absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
this is so tasty when you use it as apple pie pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
Great, I got 1st place in our county fair with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
For years, my husband was looking for the "right" cardamom cookie...and we found it in this recipe!! It's by far the best spice cookie I have ever tried! It's flaky and light. Just perfect! I have also used this for Pecan Pie and Pumpkin Pie crust.(I bake the crust at 350 for about 5 min before adding the filling; then put foil strips around the crimped edges of the crust. Take the foil off 5 min. before the pies come out of the oven, they're beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Soft, delicious. Don't cook these too long or you lose that lovely texture. They're great with raisins or dates and with extra cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danube66
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These cookies are excellent! Based on prior reviews, i doubled the cardamom, adn added more cinnamon. Also, instead of lemon, i used orange peel, and insted of milk, orange juice. I rolled the dough in a log, put it in the fridge for an hour, then sliced the cookies, and baked at 375 degrees for 8 minutes, and they came out pefect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love these cookies. I have just made them for the second time. The dough was sticky so I used a small scoop to put them on the parchment paper and then slightly wetted my fingers to flatten them. I chilled the dough in the refrig. in between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Did not have lemon zest or orange zest so I used 1 tsp lemon juice and then reduced milk to 1 tsp. Also increased the cardamom to 1 tsp and the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Did not sprinkle with sugar (enough sugar in dough). Baked on parchment paper about 10 minutes. Very good cookie, easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States