Cardamom Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
These cookies are great. I added a bit more cardamom and cinnamon as per previous reviews. The only thing is that I doubled the recipe and only had 15 cookies. Maybe I make them big, but that's how I like them. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn Boomer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Delicious flavor; followed the recipe exactly, only necessity forced me to use vanilla almond milk instead of regular. Yum! Also, didn't roll these out 1/8" thick because it was too sticky to use a rolling pin on; instead, I just made thumb-tip sized drops on the cookie sheet, and that seemed to work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Did not have lemon zest or orange zest so I used 1 tsp lemon juice and then reduced milk to 1 tsp. Also increased the cardamom to 1 tsp and the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Did not sprinkle with sugar (enough sugar in dough). Baked on parchment paper about 10 minutes. Very good cookie, easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love these cookies. I have just made them for the second time. The dough was sticky so I used a small scoop to put them on the parchment paper and then slightly wetted my fingers to flatten them. I chilled the dough in the refrig. in between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I had no lemon, so orange zest it was and no almonds, so walnuts were substituted. They turned out to be a considerably different type of cookie, but nonetheless a tasty spice cookie. Will make again and take the advice of other users to use the cookie as pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delicious cookies. I used orange zest, since I did not have a lemon and liked the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
For those of you allergic to wheat & gluten, I made these wonderful cookies with a combo of sorghum, rice & coconut flour. I'm also allergic to almonds so used hazelnuts instead. Added extra cardamom, extra lemon zest & a sprinkle of anise seed. Even used Earth Balance vegan butter. And they came out light, flaky and absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The recipe turns out great after a few adjustments. I increased the cardamom to 1.5 tspn, the cinamon to 1/2 tspn, and lemon peel to 1/2 tspn. I don't like cookies too sweet, so I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup to let the spice flavour come out. I also found the dough too sticky too roll, so I made balls and flattened them with my hand - note that this will decrease the yield to 1.5 dozen. I sprinkled pecans on top, too, and am enjoying the cookies very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Cookies are very good but this recipe needed lots of tweaking. I used 1/2 tsp cardamom and 1/4 tsp cinnamon and used orange zest in place of the lemon. I did not add the milk as the dough was already too sticky. It was far too sticky to work with so I rolled in a log in plastic wrap and chilled in the freezer then sliced the log to make the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States