Cardamom Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My only variation from the recipe was to soak both the raisins and walnuts in Capt. Morgans Spiced Rum. My wife really liked it and I thought it was good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love this bread. I used all whole wheat flour instead of a mix, added 1/3 cup of candied orange peal, and substituted toasted cocoa nibs for the walnuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I am not a huge banana bread fan, but this bread is delicious. I toasted the walnuts in the toaster oven & used golden raisins. You don't really taste the banana, but the cardamom is mild & the raisins add a nice sweetness. The walnuts add a nutty depth of flavor & crunch. The bread is moist. I made 3 mini loaves & plan to make this again at Christmas to give away. Looks like it will freeze well. This is my new favorite quick bread recipe. I think it will make good muffins, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I made this recipe because cardamom is my favorite spice. The result was OK but a little weird tasting. My banana bread has a bitter aftertaste, I think because of so much cardamom. As much as I love cardamom, I just don't think it works in this recipe with these flavor combinations. I would make this again but with cinnamon and nutmeg instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was good, unfortunately I didn't have dark rum so I used light rum. The banana rum-raisin bread was good, but it didn't seem to have a whole lot of cardamom taste but I could smell it. Smells wonderful, I might add just a bit more cardamom next time or maybe omit the rum and raisins. I think I would call this recipe rum-raisin banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
We loved this recipe even when we didn't use wheat flower and substituted applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This recipe is sort of a cross between fruit cake and banana bread. The rum-soaked raisins and cardamom are the bridging ingredients. They really give otherwise boring banana bread an extra kick. But the taste and texture are much less intense than the classic fruitcake. The first batch I rum-soaked just the raisins. The second batch (I made a double batch the second time) I soaked the raisins and walnuts. What a super taste! The third time I used cherry-flavored Craisins instead of raisins. The sky is the limit on flavor variations. Oh, I almost forgot to mention that this recipe can fill 4, small, aluminum loaf tins. They bake in 30 minutes at 350. For the double batch I had to go 40 minutes. These tins fit perfectly in Christmas decorated treat bags - for teachers' gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is great to start with! This was the first time I make banana bread and it is DELICIOUS. I made a few changes: I did not use raisins or rum, I used 1/4 c. canola oil (instead of 1/3), and I used cinnamon instead of cardamom. It turned out great like that and baked for exactly 50 minutes. I recommend these changes it tasted great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very delicious. I made the recipe exactly as-is; doubled it and put raisins in one loaf and left the other loaf plain, no nuts in either. Both were moist and yummy. I don't know how you could think this was dry? Maybe other reviewers used really small bananas? I thought it was as sweet as banana bread normally is; so I didn't think anything about that until I came back to read other reviewers' comments. Overall, something nice for a different twist on plain old banana bread! Something I did notice....the crust seemed nice and soft which I really liked; sometimes I do not like the crust of banana bread or other sweet quick-breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Wonderful and flexible recipe. I've used different kinds of fruit, dried and fresh, different kinds of nuts, chocolate chips, and always use fruit juice for the liquid. I adjust sugar depending on the fruit used, but always use less than the recipe calls for, and it is delicious. One day I forgot the sugar, and had great muffins with this recipe! You taste more with less sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States