Caraway Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and my bread turned out flat and not very flavorful. I will try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
The flavor was very nice. But, the second rise wouldn't rise fully' it only went halfway to my bread pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Very delicious and moist. I doubled the caraway and ground half of it. It gave it a very nice strong flavor. When letting it rise, don't worry so much about the time as about the condition of your dough. Whether it rises fast or slow depends on temperature and pressure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I think this will be a good recipe and I will try it again. I put mine in loaf pans and baked for about 25 minutes. the inside was not done. Oops. Definitely need to bake the whole 30 minutes. It may have been because of the loaf pans but I am not sure. I made a couple small tweaks to the recipe because I started the water and yeast and then read the recipe. OK, so I am learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sir Robert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This bread came out really good, I agree with others that more caraway seeds would make it better. Next time I will double the amount. I let the dough rise overnight in the refrigerator, then brought it to room temperature the next morning for it's second rise. I used this dough to make Reuben bread and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
FANTASTIC!!!!!!! I will so make this again! It was a little goey and sticky when I was kneeding it but it was no big deal! As soon as we took it out of the oven my daughter and I gobbled down half a loaf! It was SCRUMPTIOUS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Like others I doubled the caraway seeds. The flavor and texture are great. I might make it as one combined loaf next time so I can make sandwiches from it, since it doesn't rise much. Also the "ready in" time is obviously way off. It's really like 2 hrs 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Perfectly simple. I made rolls instead of loaves, and they turned out great. Proofed in a warm oven, over a pot of freshly boiled water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Love the bread....double the caraway. Now...what's a thrasher? Anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States