Cara's Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
My stew is in the final stages, and the house smells fantastic, my preliminary taste tests definitely fnd it worthy of 5 stars. I eyeballed most of the measurements, and didn't add the amount of cinnamon called for, and also put in some sweet potato. I am sooo looking forward to this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very flavorful, but also very labor-intensive. I used just about every pot and pan I own. I hope this freezes well, because this recipe makes a LOT of stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very yummy soup. The first time I made the stew I used a butternut squash. The second time I used a red Keri squash I got down at my co-op and it was delicious also. I baked the hard winter squash first than after it cooled I peeled and cubed it. I adjust the spices after everything is added to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was incredibly delicious! I did not even have the parsley, coriander, zucchini, peppers or thyme leaves and it still came out great. My kids and husband enjoyed it also. We added fresh spinache on top of the stew right before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is really delicious. I made a couple changes. First I do not like lentils so I used barley instead. YUM. Also I added about 1/2 cup of golden raisins. SOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Wow, this stew is fantastic! Exactly what I wanted out of a Moroccan Stew. It is a bit time consuming - lots of chopping and more steps than I usually spend on a soup - but soooo worth it. (I also made the chickpeas from dried so that added some extra steps) I followed the recipe very closely - but did substitute some of the veggies. I didn't have peppers, so instead put in 1 cup carrots; also didn't have butternut squash so threw in some leftover roasted pumpkin chunks towards the end. I used the exact spices recommended, but did reduce the red chilli flake to 1/4 teaspoon, as what I have right now is very very hot. This was perfect for me. I did not love the addition of yogurt at the end, but the mint added some nice complexity. Am already planning on making this again for a vegan dinner party in a couple weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! It can be a bit time consuming due to lots of chopping but it is definitely worth it. This recipe makes lots (and you will love the left overs), tastes great with shredded chicken added to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
It was ok. I'm not a fan of the cinnamon, which hits you after the other flavors and seems overpowering. I think if I left that out, I'd like it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The smells from the kitchen, while making this stew, are absolutely intoxicating! I made about 1 1/2 times the amount of this recipe because I had a lot of people to feed & I wanted left-overs. I HAD NO LEFTOVERS!!! I didn't have butternut squash, so I used sweet potatoes and I added more vegetable broth because I wanted it to be more of a soup than stew. I will make this again & again! Thank you, Cara!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
this is amazing. this may be a go-to recipe for life. overall, i made these changes: stupid me added 8c of veg broth and 2 c chicken broth. (i had NO IDEA what i was thinking) this made it more soup like however it was perfect. i did not add the parsley as i did not have any. if you do not like spicy, i would recommend a pinch of the red pepper flakes. with the 1 tsp it is a bit spicy but not overbearing. i love it. i also added 1 cup of chopped carrots. i had them on hand, so why not. i assume this would have been a stew had i not added 2 1/2 times as much liquid as called for, but suprisingly, it seemed correct and it worked out. lucky for me, i had all the spices. i cannot imagine this tasting the same without them, so i would strongly recommend that you indeed have these spices on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States