Cara's Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
LOVED this! I did make a few changes: I added about twice the garlic it called for because I love it, I didn't have celery or zucchini so I omitted that and I only added one red bell pepper. Also, I didnt have any fresh herbs so I used only dried ones and added about a half a teaspoon or so of both curry powder and garam marsala because I had it on hand. If you want you can wilt a little spinach over the top at the end. Overall, a delicious dish that was a hit with everyone at the table! Heads up however: if you're not feeding a small army consider halving this recipe. It makes a lot! You can also freeze it I guess... Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is awesome. We don't even miss the meat. This recipe is super adaptable to whatever fresh veg you have. Once the chickpeas and lentils and spices are in, the rest alters easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A. M. Spharler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Enriching, colorful, nourishing, comfort food. Comfort food at its best', except my family didn't grow up with this food, so it doesn't have quite that niche in our lives...yet! I hope I'm willing to wrangle w/butternut squash enough for this lovely stew to become exactly that. It is relatively low cal per nutrition content, but stuck with us anyway! We didn't have coriander, so we used nutmeg. I was concerned about the heat in regards to my youngest child, so we cut back a good bit on the red pepper flakes (so the stew was probably not quite as good because of that...., but it was still very nice). We had no parsley, so stirred in some spinach at the end, which was a nice touch of color. Also, had no peppers, but still wanted to make the stew: put in carrots as 'fillers'. It would have been prettier w/peppers, but still very nice. USED A SLOW COOKER. NEXT TIME WILL ADJUST AS FOLLOWS: make chickpeas or white or red or black beans from dried beans using a mini crock pot, adding about 1/2 t salt for the whole mini pot full ON HIGH; at the same time place oil & spices in large slow cooker ON LOW, then chop veggies, adding veggies as soon as chopped - stirring with each addition; add rest of the ingredients including ***uncooked lentils & water 4 lentils**** (add everything except for the yogurt, parsley & mint - - but go ahead and add cayenne to taste, we like a tad, as it goes a long, long way) ADD BEANS, HEAT THROUGH TO COMBINE FLAVORS, CORRECT SEASONING, SERVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Added coconut milk instead of yoghurt and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Updated March 24/12: Made this again. Delicious exactly as written. Love this dish!! ------------------ Excellent as is. Yum. So hearty and so healthy. Can't wait to try leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe did not live up to my expectations. I feel like it's missing a major flavour note -- the sweet/fruit note that other Moroccan stew recipes have. What this recipe needs are prunes or raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Fabulous! I skipped the lentils, and instead made spiced turkey meatballs (ground turkey,breadcrumbs,dehydrated onion, cinnamon, cumin, salt & pepper, and fresh mint)and dropped them in after browning them in the oven to let them finish cooking in the stew. I served it with curry couscous, plain Greek-style yogurt and more fresh chopped mint. Family approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
We love this stew. Very similar to Medici's in Hyde Park/Chicago. I've made it for both meat-eaters and vegans; loved equally by both. We serve with a side of baked pita. I make a few changes: 1) Increase tomatoes to 15 oz can 2) Reduce cinnamon to 1/2 teas. 3) Add additional spices to menu: 1/2 teas. turmeric, 1 teas. curry powder, 1/2 teas. oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This turned out great! Followed recipe exactly except I omited the corriander because I didn't have it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Didn't have coriander, still finger-licking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States