Cara's Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
To save time, I also use canned lentils. Add them right into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I've made this recipe several times, and it always comes out very delicious and flavourful. It was a big hit at a recent pot-luck dinner. I didn't need to alter the recipe in any way. Very healthy, and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Yum! Excellent dish. Nutritious and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Super Yummy! I was out of lentils so I made it as written except for using them. It was DEE-licious! Very favorful and hardy. Even better for leftovers the next day. I fixed the 'homemade flour torillas' to go with them (from this site) and it was a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good, nutrious and tastey! The only thing I did different was add a bit of salt to the lentils while they cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This turned out awesome! I love how nutritious and filling this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Amazing! I tailored it to my taste- substituted fresh cilantro in place of the Thyme and parsley because I had it on hand and prefer the taste (and because I love cumin and cilantro together!), and subbed chicken stock for the vegetable stock.(I'm obviously not a vegetarian...) I subbed a little allspice for the coriander because I didn't have the coriander. I also added cubes of potato to the boiling water with lentils and boiled until tender to add to the dish, and I added shredded carrot to the sautee of vegetables. Lastly, I added a can of black beans. I think it turned out like an amazing vegetarian chili! Mmmm... I had a ton leftover, so I added shredded chicken to it and it was delicious! A new favorite for me:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennanX2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! It can be a bit time consuming due to lots of chopping but it is definitely worth it. This recipe makes lots (and you will love the left overs), tastes great with shredded chicken added to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
this is amazing. this may be a go-to recipe for life. overall, i made these changes: stupid me added 8c of veg broth and 2 c chicken broth. (i had NO IDEA what i was thinking) this made it more soup like however it was perfect. i did not add the parsley as i did not have any. if you do not like spicy, i would recommend a pinch of the red pepper flakes. with the 1 tsp it is a bit spicy but not overbearing. i love it. i also added 1 cup of chopped carrots. i had them on hand, so why not. i assume this would have been a stew had i not added 2 1/2 times as much liquid as called for, but suprisingly, it seemed correct and it worked out. lucky for me, i had all the spices. i cannot imagine this tasting the same without them, so i would strongly recommend that you indeed have these spices on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The smells from the kitchen, while making this stew, are absolutely intoxicating! I made about 1 1/2 times the amount of this recipe because I had a lot of people to feed & I wanted left-overs. I HAD NO LEFTOVERS!!! I didn't have butternut squash, so I used sweet potatoes and I added more vegetable broth because I wanted it to be more of a soup than stew. I will make this again & again! Thank you, Cara!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States