Cara's Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
this is amazing. this may be a go-to recipe for life. overall, i made these changes: stupid me added 8c of veg broth and 2 c chicken broth. (i had NO IDEA what i was thinking) this made it more soup like however it was perfect. i did not add the parsley as i did not have any. if you do not like spicy, i would recommend a pinch of the red pepper flakes. with the 1 tsp it is a bit spicy but not overbearing. i love it. i also added 1 cup of chopped carrots. i had them on hand, so why not. i assume this would have been a stew had i not added 2 1/2 times as much liquid as called for, but suprisingly, it seemed correct and it worked out. lucky for me, i had all the spices. i cannot imagine this tasting the same without them, so i would strongly recommend that you indeed have these spices on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I've made this recipe several times, and it always comes out very delicious and flavourful. It was a big hit at a recent pot-luck dinner. I didn't need to alter the recipe in any way. Very healthy, and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Amazing! I tailored it to my taste- substituted fresh cilantro in place of the Thyme and parsley because I had it on hand and prefer the taste (and because I love cumin and cilantro together!), and subbed chicken stock for the vegetable stock.(I'm obviously not a vegetarian...) I subbed a little allspice for the coriander because I didn't have the coriander. I also added cubes of potato to the boiling water with lentils and boiled until tender to add to the dish, and I added shredded carrot to the sautee of vegetables. Lastly, I added a can of black beans. I think it turned out like an amazing vegetarian chili! Mmmm... I had a ton leftover, so I added shredded chicken to it and it was delicious! A new favorite for me:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennanX2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very yummy soup. The first time I made the stew I used a butternut squash. The second time I used a red Keri squash I got down at my co-op and it was delicious also. I baked the hard winter squash first than after it cooled I peeled and cubed it. I adjust the spices after everything is added to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Found this recipe to use a butternut squash on my counter. I cut down on the bell peppers, don't care too much for them....otherwise made it pretty much as written. I did cut the red chile pepper flakes in half and even that was a bit spicy for my group. Added some grilled pork loin to the leftovers and that was yummy. I guess I wouldn't make a good vegetarian! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! It can be a bit time consuming due to lots of chopping but it is definitely worth it. This recipe makes lots (and you will love the left overs), tastes great with shredded chicken added to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is really delicious. I made a couple changes. First I do not like lentils so I used barley instead. YUM. Also I added about 1/2 cup of golden raisins. SOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
We love this stew. Very similar to Medici's in Hyde Park/Chicago. I've made it for both meat-eaters and vegans; loved equally by both. We serve with a side of baked pita. I make a few changes: 1) Increase tomatoes to 15 oz can 2) Reduce cinnamon to 1/2 teas. 3) Add additional spices to menu: 1/2 teas. turmeric, 1 teas. curry powder, 1/2 teas. oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was incredibly delicious! I did not even have the parsley, coriander, zucchini, peppers or thyme leaves and it still came out great. My kids and husband enjoyed it also. We added fresh spinache on top of the stew right before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The smells from the kitchen, while making this stew, are absolutely intoxicating! I made about 1 1/2 times the amount of this recipe because I had a lot of people to feed & I wanted left-overs. I HAD NO LEFTOVERS!!! I didn't have butternut squash, so I used sweet potatoes and I added more vegetable broth because I wanted it to be more of a soup than stew. I will make this again & again! Thank you, Cara!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States