Cara's Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is really delicious. I made a couple changes. First I do not like lentils so I used barley instead. YUM. Also I added about 1/2 cup of golden raisins. SOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Wow, this stew is fantastic! Exactly what I wanted out of a Moroccan Stew. It is a bit time consuming - lots of chopping and more steps than I usually spend on a soup - but soooo worth it. (I also made the chickpeas from dried so that added some extra steps) I followed the recipe very closely - but did substitute some of the veggies. I didn't have peppers, so instead put in 1 cup carrots; also didn't have butternut squash so threw in some leftover roasted pumpkin chunks towards the end. I used the exact spices recommended, but did reduce the red chilli flake to 1/4 teaspoon, as what I have right now is very very hot. This was perfect for me. I did not love the addition of yogurt at the end, but the mint added some nice complexity. Am already planning on making this again for a vegan dinner party in a couple weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! It can be a bit time consuming due to lots of chopping but it is definitely worth it. This recipe makes lots (and you will love the left overs), tastes great with shredded chicken added to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
It was ok. I'm not a fan of the cinnamon, which hits you after the other flavors and seems overpowering. I think if I left that out, I'd like it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The smells from the kitchen, while making this stew, are absolutely intoxicating! I made about 1 1/2 times the amount of this recipe because I had a lot of people to feed & I wanted left-overs. I HAD NO LEFTOVERS!!! I didn't have butternut squash, so I used sweet potatoes and I added more vegetable broth because I wanted it to be more of a soup than stew. I will make this again & again! Thank you, Cara!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
this is amazing. this may be a go-to recipe for life. overall, i made these changes: stupid me added 8c of veg broth and 2 c chicken broth. (i had NO IDEA what i was thinking) this made it more soup like however it was perfect. i did not add the parsley as i did not have any. if you do not like spicy, i would recommend a pinch of the red pepper flakes. with the 1 tsp it is a bit spicy but not overbearing. i love it. i also added 1 cup of chopped carrots. i had them on hand, so why not. i assume this would have been a stew had i not added 2 1/2 times as much liquid as called for, but suprisingly, it seemed correct and it worked out. lucky for me, i had all the spices. i cannot imagine this tasting the same without them, so i would strongly recommend that you indeed have these spices on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Super Yummy! I was out of lentils so I made it as written except for using them. It was DEE-licious! Very favorful and hardy. Even better for leftovers the next day. I fixed the 'homemade flour torillas' to go with them (from this site) and it was a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Amazing! I tailored it to my taste- substituted fresh cilantro in place of the Thyme and parsley because I had it on hand and prefer the taste (and because I love cumin and cilantro together!), and subbed chicken stock for the vegetable stock.(I'm obviously not a vegetarian...) I subbed a little allspice for the coriander because I didn't have the coriander. I also added cubes of potato to the boiling water with lentils and boiled until tender to add to the dish, and I added shredded carrot to the sautee of vegetables. Lastly, I added a can of black beans. I think it turned out like an amazing vegetarian chili! Mmmm... I had a ton leftover, so I added shredded chicken to it and it was delicious! A new favorite for me:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennanX2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Found this recipe to use a butternut squash on my counter. I cut down on the bell peppers, don't care too much for them....otherwise made it pretty much as written. I did cut the red chile pepper flakes in half and even that was a bit spicy for my group. Added some grilled pork loin to the leftovers and that was yummy. I guess I wouldn't make a good vegetarian! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Really liked this recipe, the spices and flavors are yummy! I improvised a bit since I didn't have any butternut squash or peppers at home, so instead I added a cup of carrots. I also did a whole onion instead of one cup. Also, I used some dried spices for thyme and parsley since I didn't have fresh, but it still came out great. We loved it! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States