Cara's Creamy Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I've now made this a couple of times and recommend the following changes: Scale the recipe (if necessary), triple the sauce, double the garlic, add some italian seasoning, melt Mozarella on top instead of the Romano. Delicious! I look forward to making this many, many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
These stuffed meat shells are so good! They are very creamy and full of flavor. The only thing that I added was about 1/2 box of chopped spinach to the mixture. (My husband isn't wild about cooked spinach, but what he doesn't know, won't hurt him LOL)! I have tried other stuffed meat shell recipes, and they just didn't taste right. This one is a keeper! I will definately make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I only used 1 & 1/2 lbs of meat. I added some chopped onions (probably about 1/2 cup, maybe more) to the hamburger mixture, omitted the egg & garlic salt & increased the minced garlic. After hamburger was cooked, I deglazed the pan w/ about a 1/2 cup or so of pinot grigio (it's what I had open) & quickly reduced it down by half. This helped add flavor & moisture to the mix. I added about half a pkg. of chopped, frozen but thawed spinach, as well as some basil, oregano & parmesan cheese when I added the cream cheese ( I decreased the cheese some per other reviews) & pasta sauce. I had some mixture leftover so I stuffed some manicotti shells & froze them. I topped the shells w/ mozzarella before baking & a little romano & fresh chopped parsley after baking. These were delicious! I thought the wine added a nice dimension to the dish. I'm eager to try it w/ some italian sausage w/ the hamburger...thanks Cara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Delicious! i used 1 lb ground turkey. the original recipe calls for 3 lbs meat, i think thats why other reviews state its too dry and i think 1 box of shells would NEVER be enough for 3 lbs of meat. i also added 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper, 1 chopped onion and about 1TBS of italian seasoning while the meat was cooking. FYI~there is no need to cook the shells before stuffing. cooked pasta is a bit hard (for me) to handle. take the cooking time for the pasta (10 mins) and add it to the baking time (45 minutes total should do it)~cover with foil the first 30 minutes and top with cheese and bake uncovered 15 more and it is just GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I just made this last night for myself and my husband, following the recipe exactly. This produces an enormous amount of food! However, the shells freeze and re-heat easily. It was definitely a hit. However, I felt like I needed more pasta sauce - maybe 2 jars instead of 1. The shells were not completely covered. This tastes delicious and was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I only used about 3/4 lb ground meat and about 1/2 box stove top stuffing mixed into the cooked meat mixture. That really put it over the edge and gave it great flavor! Needs more sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! I added a few extra spices like sweet basil, oregano and a lot more garlic. My family LOVED the finished product and has requested it again in the same weeek. The cream cheese adds a creamy texture that makes it unique to most shell recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
everyone just loved this recipe - also froze a batch and served 3mths - later and were still a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Excellent! These shells were awesome, the cream cheese really gave them that extra little tang. The only thing I did was add a little oregano to the meat mixture. Delicious I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This came out pretty good. Makes a lot. I split the recipe and froze half of it for later. I only used about 2 1/2 lbs of hamburger and it still made plenty. I added more garlic and fresh parsley. My husband and kids really liked it. I would use more sauce next time also and maybe used multiple cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States