Cara's Creamy Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as it is written and my family LOVED it! It was fast, easy and delicious! Even my husband was impressed and that is no small feat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My family really likes this dish, but with the following changes. I use 1# of ground Italian sausage instead of the burger and I drain well before mixing the ingredients. I also add 1 box of frozen spinach, with the water squeezed out well. I use 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic and 2 jars of spaghetti sauce to get enough to go in the filling and over the shells. I also add extra cheese to the top, after I put the sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Pretty good! While I don't think these are "the world's best shells," they will be a decent addition to my regular rotation nonetheless. The cream cheese adds just enough texture to make these unique. The garlic (doubling is a MUST) lends superb flavor. I bet these would freeze well, but because stuffed shells aren't my hubby's "thing" (he's out of town so at least he didn't have to "suffer" thru tonight's dinner lol!), I scaled back. Even so, I had MORE than enough to feed my parents and I. My only other changes were to use the full amount of garlic / garlic salt called for, substitute Italian blend cheese for fresh grated Romano (store was out of the latter) and use an entire 24 oz. jar of sauce - 1/4 c. mixed with my meat / cream cheese and the rest scantly spread on the bottom of my baking dish (to prevent sticking) and atop my shells. I also drained the grease from my beef BEFORE adding my cheese / sauce to it (commone sense, IMHO). To appease my dad (he's on a heart-restrictive diet), I substituted reduced-fat cream cheese, lean sirloin, Prego's heart request traditional pasta sauce, 1/2 garlic powder / 1/2 salt substitute (to make up for high-sodium garlic salt) and reduced-fat cheese. You couldn't even tell that I "lightened" this up! My only regret is using too much sauce and skipping the Romano, but that's just me. Served with garlic butter crescents, salad, homemade (low-fat) Ranch dressing and a vanilla chip dessert. Thanks for sharing, Cara! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Awesome dish! I used half hamburger meat and half Italian sausage. I also mixed in mozzarella with the meat...Very good and easy.. I topped with about 2 cups of mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Very good..I had to stuff the shells by hand. Oh yeah, do not cook your shells to much they will be to flimsy to stuff.. I did mine just undercooked and they finished cooking in the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OUBuffy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I didn't think they turned out that great. I'm really sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
THis is SO great and easy to make ahead. I used the NEW baking cream cheese that just came out and it was fantastic. Also used a combination of sweet Italian Sausage and ground veal instead of beef. I think this would work well with ANY Ground meat. It's a great recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
These were delicious! They were pretty easy to make with the assistance of my boyfriend. We made some changes though: added a half onion, a small zucchini chopped finely, 1lb ground beef, 1lb ground turkey, italian seasoning, no garlic salt but 4 cloves of garlic, and italian cheese blend instead of just Romano. We will have a ton of leftovers!!!! Buy of bottle of Shiraz-Cabernet for an excellent compliment to this fantastic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These shells are a bit of work, but so worth it! They were so delicious, my mother-in-law asked me for the recipe; she is a cook and I'm just a novice in the kitchen. :) I am hungry just thinking about making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I absolutely loved them! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States