Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
These carmels are excellent! Great buttery carmel flavor! My kids and entire family loved them! Cooking time took a while. Younger children shouldn't cook these, but they can wrap the carmels as my kids did. Even my 4 year old had fun wrapping them in wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
Mmmm..we used this recipe to make caramel apples (it was my first time making caramel apples so the caramel kept sliding off) so we just ended up using the caramel as an apple dip. it came out SOOOO good. look no further for a caramel recipe. after we made apple dip we poured the remainder into a pan and made caramel candy pieces. YUMMY.. rich and buttery. really easy too. the only thing i did different was add waaaay more vanilla than called for (i love lots) my husband couldn't stop raving about it. it was really simple too. be careful though..the mixture gets really hot so kids should be supervised carefully if they're helping.. thanks barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
We really loved these caramels. Thank you, Barbara. I did make a couple of changes that may help others. I didn't use a 12 x 15 inch pan. I felt this was too large. I used a 13 x 9 x 2 inch to get more height to the caramels. I could have used an even slightly smaller pan, which I will do next time. Also, I read other reviews and noticed there was a problem with a long cooking time. I didn't use a medium sized pot. Instead I used a large pot that just covered the large burner on my electric stove (my pasta pot). This gave the mixture more contact with the heat. Also, I cooked this on Medium heat. When the temperature reached 225 degrees it seemed to stop there. So, I changed the stove setting to half way between medium and medium high. In a couple of minutes the thermometer reached 250 degrees. The caramels are wonderful, just as Barbara promised. Thank you for this really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
This is an excellent recipe but you must be willing to stay the course with it on the stove. These are the best I have ever eaten! Mine turned out semi soft and I wrapped them in long pieces in waxed paper. Then I twisted the ends of the paper. You will absolutely LOVE the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
This was such an easy recipe I was surprised it actually worked. The caramels are so moreish with a smooth buttery flavour. I plan to make up jars of them for family and friends at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katanning, Western Australia, Australia
Living In: Chidlow, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
Excellent recipe - mine are the perfect consistency, not gooey, not hard. It takes a long time to reach 250 degrees though, which I did not expect, having had little experience making candy. It hangs at about 212 for a long time and then starts moving again, then hangs at 225 for another while. I think that total cooking time was about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I'm always skeptical about trying a new recipe, but this is one that no one should be afraid to try. It was so easy and quick to make. I love having new candies and cookies to try. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
The ingredients were the first to catch my eye. Butter, sugars, corn syrup and others...what more could a person ask for? Yes, it did take a while to cook and yes, I only took mine to about 246 degrees, but the wait was worth the taste. Now, these are the "real thing"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I felt awful when I lost my mother's recipe for Caramels, this recipe was fairly similar and the results were just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I have tried many caramel recipes over the years and have never been successful, until THIS RECIPE!!! These are absolutely wonderful. Over Christmas, everyone who tried it begged me to make them their own batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States