Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is the recipe I use every year for my Christmas caramels and now I have tons of requests for them every year. The big thing with this one is use a large sauce pot, the ingredients “grow” as they boil and if you don’t use a large pot you’ll have a HUGE mess. Also, just a note, the temp stays at about 225 for quite a while then jumps quickly to 250. You HAVE to stir constantly and watch it close or it will end up too soft or too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just used this caramel recipe (only cooked to 440) for our Christmas turtle/bear claws and everybody thinks it was luscious and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was my first time EVER making candy of any kind. With that said, these came out 100% perfect. I cooked it in a good-sized pot, over medium-low heat, stirring constantly -- a pain, but well worth the effort. My husband, who is very stingy with compliments, told me they were "spot on." I was really impressed with how well they turned out -- they look and taste amazing. This recipe must be wonderful, because if a complete beginner can make it work, anyone can! I like a little saltiness, so I used one stick of unsalted butter, and one of salted. I will be making these every year for Christmas gifts for family and friends. Can't say enough good things about this recipe -- THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe that turned out wonderful. I did have trouble getting it up to temperature, but I live at a very high altitude. With that exception, it turned out very well. Advice: Use a very deep pan, this stuff more than doubles in volume as it cooks. Use a liberal amount of Pam on the pan you are using. Stir, stir, and stir so this doesn't scorch. I used some of this recipe to dip pretzel rods and it was amazing. Wonderful flavor, but remember that it takes some time to make. Not for the faint of heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Excellent caramels, I have tried many recipes and this is easy and makes a large amount. Good for gifts and not too hard on your teeth. Make sure you watch the temp., that is the key to making good caramel. 248 -250deg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I make these every year as teacher gifts, and they are fabulous. It does take about 35-40 min. to get up to temp. I go slow using medium heat so the butter doesn't scorch. I line a 9"x13" pan with parchment paper, making sure to crease it so it stays. I have found the best temperature to be 240-242 degrees, which is the soft ball stage on a candy thermometer. Anything more I find to be too hard and not creamy enough. Also, I try to scrape down the pan very quickly, if not what is left in the pan becomes like a crust because it gets too hard. After cooled several hours, I take the parchment paper out, lay flat and cut into 1/2" sections with a pizza cutter. Then cut again into 1 1/2" pieces and wrap each with wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
TASTE: just awesome! The flavor is amazing. My husband helped me put all the ingredients together, and he was groaning how it looked at first. Never judge 'til you're done! They're delish! DIRECTIONS: could use some work. I've never made caramels (successfully) before. I wasn't sure how hot to cook it, how long to look it, etc. I did read some of the other reviews, and it seemed like low and slow, so I did. It set a touch harder than I like, so I think next time I'll stick with 5 degrees cooler. PAN: I used a big pan and mine came out pretty thin. I'm going to go with a 10x13 cake pan next time so I get them thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was my first time making caramels,and they came out perfect. Great flavor and perfect texture. I added two cups of toasted pecans,and sprinkled with sea salt. I lined the pan with parchment,and had no problems.I did have to cook over low heat for about 40 minutes to get to 250 on my candy thermometer. I will be making these again and again. Thanks for sharing Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STEPHPAP
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Seriously Amazing!!!! My first time making caramel and they came out perfect. I read a TON of reviews and was really nervous about the rainy weather we had yesterday and that I wasn't going to know the correct degree to take them off the heat for NC (246 is when I ended up stopping them) I used an 8qt stainless pot, unsalted butter, stirred the bottom the entire time but not the sides. Cooked to 246 degrees (that took me over an hour) then poured into an 11x13 pan lined with parchment paper - I did not scrape the sides or bottom into the pan (but I did scrape what remained in the pot onto a piece of parchment paper on the counter - couldn't let all that yumminess go to waste! It isn't as good as what came out of the pan but still tasty) I let the pan sit out all night then flipped the pan onto my cutting board and cut into 1" squares and wrapped in wax paper. Cannot wait to share these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
this was awesome. I got impatient an raised the heat... so they burned, but were still surprisingly delicious. Defiantly making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States