Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Very easy recipe, even though it was my first time making candy. My only complaint is that the finished product is rather oily. Some tips for first-timers like myself: an 8-quart pot is too big. Your candy thermometer will not be submerged enough and will not register the temperature properly, and you will have to use the cold water test to tell when you're done. Also, parchment paper is apparently not the same thing as waxed paper. We ended up having to cut the caramel off the waxed paper we used to line the pan. But it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
this is actually my mom's acount but i tried this as my first at making any candy at all and my mom said it turned out perfect :D, thank you sooooo very much for posting this recipe, if i had ended up choosing a bad recipe i probably would have never made any caramel in a long time. i love this recipe and will definately use it many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
We use this recipe to make caramel apples. Wonderfully gooey, chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
We made this caramels to coated our apple. This recipe doesn't work for us, it was too runny and doesn't stick on the apple after so many attempt we finally just dip the apple into it. It taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Excellent caramel; used it to dip my pretzels and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Easy and gained my 92 y/o grandfather's approval. Not bad for a first try. I cooked a bit too long and would fix that by taking it off the heat a degree or two before it reaches temp. The final product was just a bit less "chewy" than I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These were absolutely amazing! My first time making them, they turned out so perfect, I decided to make another batch. The second batch turned out too hard for my liking, so, based on other reviewers saying they reheated them because they weren't firm enough, to get them to a higher temp to firm them up, I reheated them to about 140 degrees, added about 1/4 c heavy cream, stirred them together, and they turned out AMAZING! I pressed a little sea salt on the top of about half of them, wrapped them in wax paper, and took them to our Christmas bunco, and the salted ones were the first ones gone! Totally worth making! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I completely enjoyed this recipe! I read all the reviews first and got quite a few tips before getting started. Thank you to all that assisted me. The only variation I made was the evaporated milk. I poured the milk and cooked it on medium heat to evaporate some of the water from it. It worked! I only boiled it for a few minutes and I cooked it on medium heat because I did not want to scorch it. I also lined the pan with peanuts and covered one half with milk chocolate. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter. My grandson has been writing songs about chocolate and singing for the past hour! My mother, 89 years young, is extremely happy. Thank you for this recipe! --Choyce7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOYCE7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I cannot say enough about this recipe to make you understand how amazing they are! I made them for this past Christmas for family and friends and everyone raved about them! I made two different recipes. I did one plain recipe and one that I drizzled with melted dark chocolate and sprinkled with sea salt. My favorite was the chocolate one. After they cooled down completely, I cut them into squares and placed onto a large cooling rack. Than I drizzled them with the melted chocolate and than let them dry for about 10 minutes and than sprinkled them with sea salt. Than I stuck the whole rack into the refrigerator and let them set up. Once they were all ready, I put them into mason jars and kept them in the fridge until I gave them to my friends. Great recipe! So so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by towwii

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I loved the flavor of this recipe, but I wanted to share an issue I had with a substitution. I discovered after starting the recipe that I was out of corn syrup, and went online for a substitute- sugar and a little water plus a pinch of baking powder to keep it from crystallizing. It didn't keep the caramels from crystallizing. I even tried to remelt them and added corn syrup and they were still crumbly. You really need the corn syrup to avoid this issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States