Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Talk about a forgiving recipe. My first batch was perfect. Brought the temp up to about 245, put in the fridge to set and wrapped pieces in parchment paper for neighbor gifts. The second batch didn't set up, too gooey, so took one of the suggestions and put it back in the pan, cooked it again, but too much--my thermometer fell into the mixture, so used the soft ball test, but not very good at gauging the soft ball stage and it cooked too long and it set up way too hard. So tried another suggestion and heated it very slowly in the microwave until just soft, poured it back in the pan with a quarter cup of half and half, stirred it well until the caramel mixture had melted and incorporated the cream, poured back into the parchment lined baking dish and the final result is perfect. Figured a last resort was caramel sauce, but since I had quite a few pecans in the candy, I preferred to have the caramels. Have rarely had success with candy, so was very pleased with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alice =^..^=
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I read all the most negative and positive reviews for this recipe and I was a little nervous that I was gonna screw this up since it was my first time making caramels and because so many people had problems. I actually had to use whole milk instead of evaporated milk because I realized I forgot it and I already had all the sugar and butter in the pot but the recipe STILL worked! I think the key here is not to over cook it and not to undercook it. Don't turn the heat up too high because that will scorch the caramel. Sugar burns really easy. I am at a very high altitude so I thought to be safe I will stop the cooking at 220 degrees and they turned out perfect. I used raspberry extract instead of vanilla. They are absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice =^..^=

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I only give this 3 stars because the directions are not the best for first time caramel makers. I recommend looking into caramel cooking further than these directions go. I had to re cook my caramel because it didn't set the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This tastes excelent but it was way too soft. I think my temp was too low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Thank you, Barbara, for sharing this wonderful recipe. I am not a candy-maker but just couldn't resist trying my hand today at one of my most favorite treats. Thank you, reviewers, for your helpful hints. If it wasn't for you I really don't think my caramels would have turned out as perfect as they did. I am so excited about this that I can't wait to do it again. My friends and family are going to be so excited to receive this beautiful and tasty gift! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Phew! After about an hour and a half of constant stirring, these are magnificent. Make sure you have a good candy thermometer, a patient and attentive hand, and a clean, lightly greased cookie sheet. I suggest sprinkling on some coarse sea salt. It makes them look beautiful and taste even better. Cut these into SMALL squares. They are rich and very chewy! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These are a new staple in my Christmas baking!!! These were AMAZING!!! (Just make sure you have 1-2 hour(s) to cook them before you start). Seriously- worth the wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
A few questions about this recipe- 1) what temp do you cook it at 2) do you stir it the entire time or just let it go 3) if you want to add something to it, should you do it after it is made and you are pouring it on the pan or while it is cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Delicious and fairly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Just made these today. Followed other reviewers suggestions and bought a 4 qt. pot that was NOT non-stick. Took about an hour to get to just under 250 degrees on candy thermometer with 1 minor adjustment to the heat. Added a bad of chopped pecans, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States