Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very easy and delicious. I live very close to sea level and 250F was perfect for a result of soft, chewy candy. I took my time bringing the candy to temp by starting on low heat and gradually increasing to just over medium. Took approximately an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Wonderful caramel with old time flavor! The only change I made was to use a 9 X 13 pan. I wanted my caramel to be a little thicker so I could cut them into squares. I also generously buttered the pan, then dabbed up any excess oil with a paper tool after I dumped the Carmel out. I was too afraid it would stick. Yummy!!!! I think I'll melt a few down later and make caramel popcorn balls! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keuliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Awesome! My first year making candy, very simple to do. One person mentioned that the heat is not specified...correct...I melt the butter on low then turn up to medium and add the rest of the ingredients stirring nearly constantly. It does take a while to get to 250F and it grows considerably; I use a 3 quart saucepan and it works fine. Cutting it can be a bit difficult, I ended up using a non-stick pizza cutter and it worked out good. Wrapping can be time consuming and a bit wasteful of the paper if not cut properly but is an absolute must. The finished product though, is a very enjoyable treat that everyone will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was my first attempt at caramels and I have to say they turned out fantastic. I followed the directions to a T, something I don't normally do, and i'm so glad I did. It took about 45 minutes of constant stirring on medium heat, and like someone else said they increased in size. Luckily I had another pot on hand and for about 10 minutes I had two pots of carmel on the stove. I was able to mix them back together at the end and all was well. It seemed to take forever for them to get up near 250 and then suddenly the thermometer went over and I pulled them off the stove pretty quickly. I was afaid they'd be too hard but they were great. One reviewer mentioned to pay attention, make sure the dog's not underfoot, which made me laugh. However I took that advice ... you do not want to spill hot caramel on the stove, the dog, yourself or anything else. Disaster was averted by patience and attention. I think that's the key. Thanks for sharing this great recipe and to everyone who gave helpful hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this exactly as the directions said. They turned out perfectly. I do have to say it took me about an hour to get to 250 degrees. I cooked mine on a lower heat because I wanted to be careful not to burn the mixture. But it was well worth the time, they are absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhon0603

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great tasting caramel! I cooked until temp about 245 instead of 250 because some people theirs was too hard at 250. Next time I will cook until temp 250. Mine were a little too soft. It didn't effect the flavor they were wonderful. Great for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Talk about a forgiving recipe. My first batch was perfect. Brought the temp up to about 245, put in the fridge to set and wrapped pieces in parchment paper for neighbor gifts. The second batch didn't set up, too gooey, so took one of the suggestions and put it back in the pan, cooked it again, but too much--my thermometer fell into the mixture, so used the soft ball test, but not very good at gauging the soft ball stage and it cooked too long and it set up way too hard. So tried another suggestion and heated it very slowly in the microwave until just soft, poured it back in the pan with a quarter cup of half and half, stirred it well until the caramel mixture had melted and incorporated the cream, poured back into the parchment lined baking dish and the final result is perfect. Figured a last resort was caramel sauce, but since I had quite a few pecans in the candy, I preferred to have the caramels. Have rarely had success with candy, so was very pleased with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alice =^..^=
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I read all the most negative and positive reviews for this recipe and I was a little nervous that I was gonna screw this up since it was my first time making caramels and because so many people had problems. I actually had to use whole milk instead of evaporated milk because I realized I forgot it and I already had all the sugar and butter in the pot but the recipe STILL worked! I think the key here is not to over cook it and not to undercook it. Don't turn the heat up too high because that will scorch the caramel. Sugar burns really easy. I am at a very high altitude so I thought to be safe I will stop the cooking at 220 degrees and they turned out perfect. I used raspberry extract instead of vanilla. They are absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice =^..^=

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I only give this 3 stars because the directions are not the best for first time caramel makers. I recommend looking into caramel cooking further than these directions go. I had to re cook my caramel because it didn't set the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This tastes excelent but it was way too soft. I think my temp was too low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States