Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Just made these today. Followed other reviewers suggestions and bought a 4 qt. pot that was NOT non-stick. Took about an hour to get to just under 250 degrees on candy thermometer with 1 minor adjustment to the heat. Added a bad of chopped pecans, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I forgot to add that if you decide to make these and are new to caramel making, please keep in mind that it can be a lengthy process. Mine generally have to bubble away on a med/low heat for a solid 45 mins, maybe more until they reach the 248 - 250 degree area. Also, please, I beg of you, do NOT substitute margarine for the butter. Yes, a cup of butter is a lot, but all things in moderation. I never, ever, make these more than twice a year (no matter how bad my cravings might get!) My Christmas batch is bubbling away right now. I sometimes, (like now for my Christmas batch), use real vanilla bean ... just split and scrape a bean as per normal. The little black flecks in the caramels look sooo yummy!! No doubt about vanilla in there at all, that's for sure. If you're not big on vanilla, skip it altogether -- these caramels have enough of their own flavor that it can easily be left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Theese are perfect for dipping in chocolate, or on their own! Turned out flawlessly and were a big hit with friends and family. Easy to make too, just take it slow and watch the thermometer. When it hits the right temperature it very quickly browns and thickens so you need to be ready to remove it from the heat and get it into the pan to cool. It took about 50 minutes to hit the correct temperature and I stirred and watched it the whole time. They cut nicely too, but I found rubbing some olive oil on my knife periodicly helped it glide through no problem. Loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I love these! But I sprinkle a few pieces of sea salt on the bottom of the pan before I pour the caramel in. The salt enhances the flavor so much. I can't get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
First time ever making caramels, or candy of any kind, and it was surprisingly easy to do and turned out so much better than I thought it would!!!! The caramels are delicious ... better than the ones I buy at the store. The extra tips were so helpful, like not using a lot of butter while cooling them (I sprayed with pam and then wiped most of it off). The only problem I had was that I didn't wait for them to totally cool before I cut them and put them in waxed paper, so they stuck a bit to the paper. I will remember with the next batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Great taste but more like Werthers than a caramel. Next time will lower the 250 degrees to around 244 to make them a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Steelville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
As a culinary arts student, I've learned to cook the sugar until it simply caramelizes. It should be a consistency to where it doesn't drip like water but it DOES drip. A good twist to add to it is cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Wow! These are so delicious! I made them for Thanksgiving and everyone who tried them had to have another and another... The only thing that I did to change the recipe was that I sprinkled sea salt over the top as soon as I poured them onto the jelly roll pan. They didn't cool as quickly as I had assumed they might, but I just left them to cool overnight and they were good to go the next morning. I am going to try to find the candy wrapping papers online. Anyway, be prepared to stir for close to an hour, but according to my entire family, they were worth the wait! Great recipe; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Adkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
These caramels are awesome! Everyone that tried them said I should sell them and they keep asking for more, saying they're the best caramels they've ever had. Though it is labor intensive, the worst part for me was cutting and wrapping them at the end. I think next time I'll buy pre-made candy wrappers rather than using wax paper that kept sticking to the caramels. Definitely a recipe that I'll be keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have been using this recipe for a few years now and I've never had a bad batch. It is delicious and perfect! Few tips: 1. Line the pan you pour the caramel mixture into with parchment paper. This way you can lift it out once it is completely cool and makes for easy cutting and also gives you a nonstick surface to cut on! 2. Cut the caramels with a CERAMIC KNIFE. I use my Yoshi Blades and never have a problem with the caramel sticking and it cuts with ease. When you use a regular knife it hurts your arm and takes much longer. 3. Make sure you monitor the temperature from 240* - 250* VERY CLOSELY! It jumps rapidly there at the end. I let my caramel mixture cool overnight at room temperature prior to cutting. I also buy candy wrappers from Michaels Craft Store for $1.99 and use those to wrap my candies. You can store these in the freezer if you are not planning on eating them all right away. I store 1/2 in the refrigerator and 1/2 in the freezer and microwave for 15 seconds when I have a taste for one. Instant satisfaction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States