Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I agree with the person who said theirs tasted like a buttery store candy. While that's not a bad thing...that's not what I was looking for. This won't go to waste, because I will thin and make dessert sauce with it or something. Just wanted more of a caramel taste and not so much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Mahre
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Have made this twice now and both have been exceptional! I had tried other recipes with no success. The whole batch usually goes in the garbage. Not these! (check my photo). The only advice I can give new caramel makers is the same that is said here..... Patience, patience, patience. I start off on low until everything is melted evenly and then turn up to med- low and let it go the whole time on med-low. More like 45 minutes and a LOT of stirring, but EVERYONE who has tried these wants me to make a batch for them. Anxious now for Christmas to make these for gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Mahre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This recipe was a hit with my family. It is now requested that I make it every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Made just as it called for. Really tasty but it took a hour just to get it up to temp. After I let it cool it never really firmed up like it should have, it wasnt soupy but too soft to do much with. I think Ill keep looking for another recipe thats a bit faster- and maybe get a new theromometer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I made this recipe and it turned out perfectly delicious and sticky. I added pecans as a personal taste. After a few days left covered at room temperature they lost their gooey texture and the closest word I can find to explain it is gritty, it doesn't pull like caramel and it almost just breaks where bitten. What happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great caramels. Made these for my coworkers and they loved them. Sprinkled sea salt on half and dipped the other half in chocolate. Turned out amazing! Easy recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I tried this recipe as part of my holiday baking this year and it has gotten rave reviews from all who have received it. I sprinkled pink sea salt on the caramel after spreading it into the pan. It gives it a little bit of a salty hit with the sweet, which was also well received. Make sure to let the caramel cool for a few minutes in the pan before adding the sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Didn't work for me. Turned out grainy. I've made candy before. I used a candy thermometer and didn't use too high heat. I live at only 6 ft above sea level. After reading other caramel recipes, I think it has to do with when the cream and butter is added and the stirring technique. I will use another recipe next time and not stir it constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was an easy recipe to follow (I followed it exactly)...it set perfectly and the candy was a nice consistency and just the right softness. I don't use a candy thermometer, I use an infrared thermometer that you just point at the surface of the candy and cooked it to exactly 250. (I have checked this method with a candy thermometer and its always matched right up... and so less messy) My issue with this recipe it the taste. I thought it was a little too sweet and not at all buttery like I like my caramel. I can only assume the problem is using the evaporated milk, all of the recipes I've used prior called for all heavy cream, I will go back to that type of caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Saunders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This recipe produced the most amazing caramels I've ever tasted!! I calibrated my candy thermometer as recommended by a reviewer, and found that it was 10 degrees off! So...I used the cold water test, and it turned out perfectly. Definitely will make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States