Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
PLEASE READ THIS! I read several reviews and took note: calibrated my thermometer, used a NON nonstick pan, lightly greased my pan, etc. I ran into one disaster after another, and I am going to tell you how in the end my caramels came out so perfect that they literally melt in your mouth! Everything in the pot and i am stirring stirring stirring and singing ,I 've got all the work I need..., I was wondering why this pot of bubble goo ain't going nowhere. Then I see it, a CLOSED can of evaporated milk! I put the one cup of evaporated milk in a cup and heated it to boiling in the microwave. I then slowly poured it into the bubbling mixture. It seemed like an hour had passed and my thermometer was not getting to 250. I decided to do the ice cold water test and it seemed like it was pretty firm. I poured it into the LIGHTLY greased pan and let it cool. This stuff came out like cement. I chiseled off a piece and my teeth were literally stuck together after i took a bite. It was GLUED to the pan. QUICK THINKING!! I put the pan in to oven at 350 for 5 minutes. The caramel got to where I could peel it off the pan. I got my Blendtec mixer and put in 300 cc of heavy cream (leftover in the carton form the recipe) . I then stuffed in 3/4 of my disaster and ran the soup cycle three times. The stuff got REALLY hot and very smooth and silky. I poured it into a different pan, a glass one sprayed with pam. I let it cool COMPLETELY. It tastes perfect and I am out of ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
They were great, except around 230 degrees my butter started to separate. So i kept going until it reached 250. On the finished caramels I had to scrape the butter off the top. (Any ideas why this happened?) Over all, I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam2015

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hedrick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Perfect! My first batch was doubled and I had no problems. A double batch is a full 5 pounds and everyone who received these was just delighted with many requests for more when i make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Bunny

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: California, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe is so delicious and so good! I've followed it exactly several times and EVERYBODY loves them. They have the best flavor! You can taste the vanilla and I love it. The recipe makes a 9x13 pan which i cut into approx. 1 inch squares, so that makes about 100. It takes a long time to get to temperature, maybe 30ish minutes? And it will turn the color of caramel and have big thick boil bubbles when it's ready. Oh, I have discovered that cutting them with greased scissors works really well! Note: I have tried at least 5 different candy thermometers and they are never, NEVER accurate. The last one was the most expensive/fanciest one, and it just stopped at like, 200 degrees! I now just rely totally on the ball in the water method. I always worried that it wouldn't be accurate enough, but I've had better luck with that than thermometers. However, if you're going to use a thermometer, I like to calibrate it by putting it in ice water and seeing how far off from 32 degrees it is. Then I add or subtract that much from the finishing point of the recipe. So, if in ice water it says 40 degrees, and the recipe says cook to 250, I will stop at 258. Elevation can make a difference, too. In high elevation, I usually stop a few degrees early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
O to the M to the G! I followed the recipe to the T. I took another reviewers caution and used a large pan without the non-stick surface. I took my time ... with the patience of Job ... for one full hour to reach 250 degrees. And here's the only thing I did differently: I added smoked sea salt to the end product. JUST BEAUTIFUL. Texture - perfect. The combo of sweet and salty was perfection. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoeticLisence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
My son wanted to make caramels. This was fairly labor intensive, but holy moses they are GOOD. We topped them with some large flakes of sea salt. Hubby took some to work and they were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by padecakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I love caramel- this is the first recipe that I had success. I made this caramels and then used them to make turtles. Everyone loved them. It does take quite some time to make and you can not rush it. But I will these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is so good and so easy! You do want to use a large pot though. I watched the color as I cooked it and when it was the color I thought was right, it was done. The caramels came out perfectly and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I just used this recipe and it came out awesome! I didn't have a thermometer so I just cooked it until I got around the consistency I wanted and did the water test (drizzled a little into cold water). It came out great! Very popular! I doubt there is going to be any left for myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States