Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The recipe says to use a medium pot I recommend a Dutch oven otherwise anything smaller will boil over. These are the best caramels and you mu st follow the cooking instructions even though it takes a while to reach 250 degrees it will be well worth all that stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
First time making candy and theses are perfect! ThAnk you so much Barbara for sharing your recipe. I did read reviews and I agree use a large pot. I used an 8 qt stock pot which is plenty and large enough for a double batch. We live in San Diego,so I kept temperature at 250. I was cooking dinner while making this so I was close to the pot for the entire hour. Somehow I forgot to add evaporated milk. So I put pot back on the stove,and it came out perfect. Recipe is very forgiving. I sprinkled coarse salt lightly on top of entire batch and pecans on one half. Popped in frig for 10 mins and used pizza cutter and wrapped in wax paper. Depending on your size of pieces you can yield 60+ pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco Bane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Malee K Sanborn
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
yes! It was great every one at work is asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malee K Sanborn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Excellent recipe, These are just yummy. Just like a potato chip, you can't eat just one. Simple to prepare - just time consuming wrapping them in waxed paper. But it's all worth it. Yummy yummy, thank you Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I agree with the person who said theirs tasted like a buttery store candy. While that's not a bad thing...that's not what I was looking for. This won't go to waste, because I will thin and make dessert sauce with it or something. Just wanted more of a caramel taste and not so much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Mahre
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Have made this twice now and both have been exceptional! I had tried other recipes with no success. The whole batch usually goes in the garbage. Not these! (check my photo). The only advice I can give new caramel makers is the same that is said here..... Patience, patience, patience. I start off on low until everything is melted evenly and then turn up to med- low and let it go the whole time on med-low. More like 45 minutes and a LOT of stirring, but EVERYONE who has tried these wants me to make a batch for them. Anxious now for Christmas to make these for gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Mahre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This recipe was a hit with my family. It is now requested that I make it every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Made just as it called for. Really tasty but it took a hour just to get it up to temp. After I let it cool it never really firmed up like it should have, it wasnt soupy but too soft to do much with. I think Ill keep looking for another recipe thats a bit faster- and maybe get a new theromometer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I made this recipe and it turned out perfectly delicious and sticky. I added pecans as a personal taste. After a few days left covered at room temperature they lost their gooey texture and the closest word I can find to explain it is gritty, it doesn't pull like caramel and it almost just breaks where bitten. What happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great caramels. Made these for my coworkers and they loved them. Sprinkled sea salt on half and dipped the other half in chocolate. Turned out amazing! Easy recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States