Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I made this recipe and it turned out perfectly delicious and sticky. I added pecans as a personal taste. After a few days left covered at room temperature they lost their gooey texture and the closest word I can find to explain it is gritty, it doesn't pull like caramel and it almost just breaks where bitten. What happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great caramels. Made these for my coworkers and they loved them. Sprinkled sea salt on half and dipped the other half in chocolate. Turned out amazing! Easy recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I tried this recipe as part of my holiday baking this year and it has gotten rave reviews from all who have received it. I sprinkled pink sea salt on the caramel after spreading it into the pan. It gives it a little bit of a salty hit with the sweet, which was also well received. Make sure to let the caramel cool for a few minutes in the pan before adding the sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Didn't work for me. Turned out grainy. I've made candy before. I used a candy thermometer and didn't use too high heat. I live at only 6 ft above sea level. After reading other caramel recipes, I think it has to do with when the cream and butter is added and the stirring technique. I will use another recipe next time and not stir it constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was an easy recipe to follow (I followed it exactly)...it set perfectly and the candy was a nice consistency and just the right softness. I don't use a candy thermometer, I use an infrared thermometer that you just point at the surface of the candy and cooked it to exactly 250. (I have checked this method with a candy thermometer and its always matched right up... and so less messy) My issue with this recipe it the taste. I thought it was a little too sweet and not at all buttery like I like my caramel. I can only assume the problem is using the evaporated milk, all of the recipes I've used prior called for all heavy cream, I will go back to that type of caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Saunders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This recipe produced the most amazing caramels I've ever tasted!! I calibrated my candy thermometer as recommended by a reviewer, and found that it was 10 degrees off! So...I used the cold water test, and it turned out perfectly. Definitely will make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
These turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly as written. My only dislike was that they turned out a bit hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made these on Christmas Eve to take to relatives Christmas day. I've never made candy before, and this was very easy for a beginner. It did take about 40 minutes like others have said. I also used Cane Sugar syrup instead of Corn syrup, and my caramels came out quite soft. Not sure if this is the reason, but it's the only thing I changed. I'm in Houston at nearly sea level, and I checked that my thermometer was calibrated. Of course I hadn't realized that it would take quite some time to wrap all of these. I got nearly 150 caramels from this recipe! Will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Contreras Murrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This recipe completely failed on me. I've been making candies since I was 6 and I followed the recipe precisely and cooked it on low to make sure that it wouldn't burn. When it reached 250 F I took it off, added the vanilla and let it cool. The fact that it didn't solidify didn't bother me (I can fix that), but it tasted terrible. I could have made a caramel like that by boiling a can of Condensed milk.... I wouldn't recommend this. It isn't worth the pint of Heavy Whipping Cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! I'd give it 5 stars if it wasn't so greasy. They probably wouldn't be as tasty if it wasn't for all the butter either so what can I do , eh. I have found using parchment paper instead of greasing the pan helps. Also I'm a big ghost pepper fan and discovered that adding a 1/4 teaspoon of finely ground ghost pepper in with the vanilla gives these a nice kick that most people really enjoy. They are a big hit at parties ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States