Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I love caramel and anything homemade always tastes better, but this recipe is just not working for me. I have tried this recipe twice and both times they did not set up right. The first time I did everything exactly as the recipe said and my caramel never set up. The second time I cooked the caramel until it began to get thick and it ended up being way to hard so it also ended up in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Self Taught Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monett, Missouri, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Its the best I have ever had. Homemade, delicious, yummy.......! Try it people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I don't make a lot of candies and this was my first caramel since I was a little kid. I couldn't get the temp of the liquid to over 240 F. I turned up the heat on my stove top to 7 (out of 10) hoping that would move the heat along. It stayed there for about 20 minutes while I constantly stirred. No luck. I finally got burned by the splatters enough that I called it a day. My caramels are too soft and have a grittiness to them. Any advice on how to manage the heat? Should I try a larger pot (used a med pot per in the directions)? It cooking and stirring for about 40 min not enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Perfection. It just takes a lot of time to get up to temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygurll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimshaw, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This was my first attempt at making caramels and even though I accidentally used regular whipping cream instead of heavy whipping cream, they turned out perfectly. I sprinkled kosher salt on top because I love that salted caramel taste. Thank goodness I only made half a recipe and then gave half to a friend or I would have eaten them all myself. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The recipe says to use a medium pot I recommend a Dutch oven otherwise anything smaller will boil over. These are the best caramels and you mu st follow the cooking instructions even though it takes a while to reach 250 degrees it will be well worth all that stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
First time making candy and theses are perfect! ThAnk you so much Barbara for sharing your recipe. I did read reviews and I agree use a large pot. I used an 8 qt stock pot which is plenty and large enough for a double batch. We live in San Diego,so I kept temperature at 250. I was cooking dinner while making this so I was close to the pot for the entire hour. Somehow I forgot to add evaporated milk. So I put pot back on the stove,and it came out perfect. Recipe is very forgiving. I sprinkled coarse salt lightly on top of entire batch and pecans on one half. Popped in frig for 10 mins and used pizza cutter and wrapped in wax paper. Depending on your size of pieces you can yield 60+ pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco Bane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Malee K Sanborn
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
yes! It was great every one at work is asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malee K Sanborn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Excellent recipe, These are just yummy. Just like a potato chip, you can't eat just one. Simple to prepare - just time consuming wrapping them in waxed paper. But it's all worth it. Yummy yummy, thank you Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I agree with the person who said theirs tasted like a buttery store candy. While that's not a bad thing...that's not what I was looking for. This won't go to waste, because I will thin and make dessert sauce with it or something. Just wanted more of a caramel taste and not so much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 524) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States