Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These caramels are delicious. They are a tad bit on the oily side, so next time I will cut down on the butter. I cook to 240 for a perfect caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
DELICIOUS! I used half white sugar and half pourable brown sugar. WOW! I made three batches in less than a week. They make great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I've never attempted any type of candy before and didn't have a thermometer, so my advise is to use a big pot, due to it bubbles up so high on a low temp. I had to switch pots in the middle of making it. Once the bubbles go down it begins turning more brown and then you can begin to turn up the heat, I did the drop in cold water gig, and it was the best caramel I have ever had. I also made a major mistake, I thought I was supposed to put it on wax paper and let me tell you, don't make the same mistake, unless you like eating wax paper. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EARTHLYCHARM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Simply great. I have always been a Caramel lover. Now I can make it (Thank you)Plus it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Used vanilla ice cream instead of the evaporated milk and cooked to 230 (we live in high altitute) and they set up perfectly and were GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Caution, just like any taffy like recipe - don't mix while cooking except to prevent scorching. Use a wooden spoon. Keep the thermometer CLEAN and off the bottom. Make sure it is a formable ball rather than soft ball stage. Turned out great using a slightly adjusted mix - less corn syrup and less butter. Next AGUAVE SYRUP! INSTEAD OF CORN SYRUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meehlticket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Awesome caramels!! I made 2 batches this week, I followed the directions exactly and they turned out perfectly!! They got rave reviews, plus a couple of requests for the recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Can't quite find one reason why I didn't like these. Didn't like the consistency, I expected a harder chew. Didn't like the corn syrupy flavor behind the carmel and they were too sweet to the point that they were not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I have to admit that I cheated and stirred (only once or twice, I couldn't help myself!)after adding the heavy (whipping) cream the second time. The bottom of my pan required much scrubbing, HOWEVER, it was worth the effort. These are the most awesome caramels. Next time, I promise not to stir and see if that prevents the extra "scrub-time."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Great recipe. I make this all the time.I used half white and half brown sugar. I also used 2 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp. of butter flavor. I cooked mine on medium heat, stirring often until it started to boil, then added the remaining cream and left it alone until it reached 248 degrees. This is a good temp for caramel apples. I'd probably cook it until it reached at least 255 degrees for caramels, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States