Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
My husband, my coworkers and I really dig this recipe. The caramels are fresh, buttery, smooth and addictive. I changed one thing about the recipe, however, and added another step - first, I cook it just a little longer to 245 degrees as opposed to 245. Also, I found that if I "polish" the cut caramels with corn starch that they aren't so greasy. I do this by coating each one in corn starch and letting them sit for 10-15 minutes and then wiping off the cornstarch with a cloth or paper towel. The starch absorbs the excess grease without changing the flavor or consistency. This also makes them less apt to stick to the wrapper or plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHALOZBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I am a big fan of homemade caramels and these were wonderful! The recipe is simple to make and everone loved it. My only advise would be to use a digital thermometer and remove right at exactly 242 degrees. Any sooner and they are very soft, buttery and not as caramelly (but still tasty). Any later and they are very hard to cut and chew (but still very tasty!). I made these for Christmas gifts and they were very loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These caramels are delicious. They are a tad bit on the oily side, so next time I will cut down on the butter. I cook to 240 for a perfect caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
DELICIOUS! I used half white sugar and half pourable brown sugar. WOW! I made three batches in less than a week. They make great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I've never attempted any type of candy before and didn't have a thermometer, so my advise is to use a big pot, due to it bubbles up so high on a low temp. I had to switch pots in the middle of making it. Once the bubbles go down it begins turning more brown and then you can begin to turn up the heat, I did the drop in cold water gig, and it was the best caramel I have ever had. I also made a major mistake, I thought I was supposed to put it on wax paper and let me tell you, don't make the same mistake, unless you like eating wax paper. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EARTHLYCHARM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Simply great. I have always been a Caramel lover. Now I can make it (Thank you)Plus it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Used vanilla ice cream instead of the evaporated milk and cooked to 230 (we live in high altitute) and they set up perfectly and were GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Caution, just like any taffy like recipe - don't mix while cooking except to prevent scorching. Use a wooden spoon. Keep the thermometer CLEAN and off the bottom. Make sure it is a formable ball rather than soft ball stage. Turned out great using a slightly adjusted mix - less corn syrup and less butter. Next AGUAVE SYRUP! INSTEAD OF CORN SYRUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meehlticket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Awesome caramels!! I made 2 batches this week, I followed the directions exactly and they turned out perfectly!! They got rave reviews, plus a couple of requests for the recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Can't quite find one reason why I didn't like these. Didn't like the consistency, I expected a harder chew. Didn't like the corn syrupy flavor behind the carmel and they were too sweet to the point that they were not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States