Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I've used this recipe half a dozen times and every time they come out better than I remembered them to be. There so easy I melt the butter first then add the cream so I have something to mix the sugar and karo syrup with. I put it on med for the first 10-15 min then drop it down to med-low and put the candy thermometor on the pot and let it do the rest, checking the temperture often. It took a good 40-45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So, after reading other reviews, I decided to cut the butter in half, add 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and only use 1 cup of corn syrup. It came out DELICIOUS. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!! Seriously. I'm like, beyond novice at candy-making, and these smooth, buttery caramels are the most delicious things I've ever put in my mouth. Not stirring goes counter to everything I know, but it WORKS. So completely delicious. I can't believe my first attempt at making caramel came out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willowcrickett
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Favorite! Finishing a batch right now. I take it up to 250 and they wrap nicely in waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as stated and used exact ingredients & measurements. My caramels did not set up at 242 degrees as recommended in the recipe. I was quite disappointed so I scraped the candy out of the pan back into the pot stirring until melted. Then I cooked it to 250 degrees without stirring. It turned out perfect. After the candy began to set in the fridge I began seeing the excess butter on the top so I covered the caramel with napkins on the top while it finished cooling. Everyone loved them and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the best caramel recipe I have ever made! The past couple of years I have been making another recipe and it just didn't have the right flavor...this one is PERFECT!! I used all the ingredients just as called for and I heated until 250. I used this to make homemade turtle treats but am going to make another batch for the pure enjoyment of caramels by themselves! This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was some pretty good caramel! It was more than what I thought it would be. My kids loved it and keep asking for more. I added it to my apple pie and it was awesome. Next time I will add even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I boiled it to 246 degrees and it made a much better candy that can be wrapped in parchment paper. It took about 30min to cook. over all GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
yum! i loved this recipe :) although my first attempt didn't work the second time i loved it great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is such a fabulous recipe! It is hands down my favorite, my go-to recipe for soft caramels. They turn out perfectly every time, and the ingredients are basic and simple and perfect. I make these exactly as written, except I usually skip the vanilla and sprinkle the caramels with some granular sea salt when they are almost firm. So delicious! I also like to dip them in tempered chocolate, and than sprinkle some sea salt on top of the chocolate. Absolutely to die for! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States