Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is my favorite recipe...turns out perfectly every time. I've made it with 1/2 cup butter with similar results. Also switched to dark corn syrup and half brown sugar for more of a butterscotch taste. Today I added 4 oz of bittersweet & 2 oz of unsweetened chocolate. Tastes like tootsie rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I've used this recipe half a dozen times and every time they come out better than I remembered them to be. There so easy I melt the butter first then add the cream so I have something to mix the sugar and karo syrup with. I put it on med for the first 10-15 min then drop it down to med-low and put the candy thermometor on the pot and let it do the rest, checking the temperture often. It took a good 40-45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So, after reading other reviews, I decided to cut the butter in half, add 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and only use 1 cup of corn syrup. It came out DELICIOUS. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!! Seriously. I'm like, beyond novice at candy-making, and these smooth, buttery caramels are the most delicious things I've ever put in my mouth. Not stirring goes counter to everything I know, but it WORKS. So completely delicious. I can't believe my first attempt at making caramel came out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willowcrickett
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Favorite! Finishing a batch right now. I take it up to 250 and they wrap nicely in waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as stated and used exact ingredients & measurements. My caramels did not set up at 242 degrees as recommended in the recipe. I was quite disappointed so I scraped the candy out of the pan back into the pot stirring until melted. Then I cooked it to 250 degrees without stirring. It turned out perfect. After the candy began to set in the fridge I began seeing the excess butter on the top so I covered the caramel with napkins on the top while it finished cooling. Everyone loved them and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the best caramel recipe I have ever made! The past couple of years I have been making another recipe and it just didn't have the right flavor...this one is PERFECT!! I used all the ingredients just as called for and I heated until 250. I used this to make homemade turtle treats but am going to make another batch for the pure enjoyment of caramels by themselves! This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was some pretty good caramel! It was more than what I thought it would be. My kids loved it and keep asking for more. I added it to my apple pie and it was awesome. Next time I will add even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I boiled it to 246 degrees and it made a much better candy that can be wrapped in parchment paper. It took about 30min to cook. over all GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
yum! i loved this recipe :) although my first attempt didn't work the second time i loved it great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States