Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I've made caramels from a few different recipes, and this one is my favorite. I do, however, tweak it quite a bit. First, I only use 1 cup corn syrup. I boil the sugar and corn syrup to 350 degrees, then remove from heat and add butter (only about 1 stick, usually less) and 1 tsp. salt. Then I add the cream to the mixture, but I heat it first. Add the hot cream in a slow stream while stirring constantly, then return to the heat and boil to 250 degrees. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I was scared to try these as I have never made caramels before. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used Margarine instead of butter. They turned out great, They do take awile to cook I kept them at a low temp. Very creamy and held their shape well. I will be making these for teacher gifts for Christmas this year. A definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This recipe is very easy and results in creamy, chewy caramels that won't pull your fillings out. If you don't get them firm enough or cooked to the right temp the first time, don't be afraid to re-melt it down again and heat it up to the correct temp. These are also great with chopped pecans stirred in and look cute wrapped in wax paper wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have now made these 3 times in a week. The first time I had to change pans 3 times - make sure you have a BIG pan or it will boil over!! Needless to say, they came out a little on the soft side. I used that caramel as filling for my turtles - worked perfectly! The next 2 times I used a 5 quart kettle. The only problem I had was it seemed to take forever to get to 242. I just couldn't wait. Yummy - 5 Stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Delfzyl, Groningen, Netherlands
Living In: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Turned out a little soft but it was very tasty. I added pecans and that toned down the sweetness of the caramels. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I've never made candy before but I found this recipe to be SOOO easy and very delicious! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is truly a "melt in your mouth" candy....can't stop eating them!!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This recipe is amazing! I was unsure as to how high the heat had to be after adding the second cup of cream but discovered that if the heat was too low the caramel would (obviously) not heat to the correct temperature so I ended up turning up the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I am so excited to finally find a caramel recipe that turns out perfect! I have failed for the last three years trying diffent recipes (too hard, too soft and burned one year). This recipe was super easy to follow. The hardest part was resisting the urge to not stir once all ingredients were in. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States