Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This is great caramel. I halved the recipe cause when I do the whole one it overflows my pan. Time for a new pan, everyone loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISHAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
These are delicious caramels, but either they are supposed to be gooey at room temperature, or I didn't cook long enough. We have to keep them refridgerated. They also are not very dark, so next time we're going to substitute in some brown sugar and a little less butter and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Yummmm!!! I've made a couple batches so far and they keep dissapearing! I found that as long as it's heated to between 238 & 242, they come out so soft and chewy! For a carmel sauce, stop it at about 220-225. I found that I wanted to add an extra dash of vanilla. I add marshmallows to one batch and made Carmarsh and oh was that wonderful... same with the Pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Yummy! I lost my mom's recipe for caramels and this one was just like it. You have to watch the cooking time, each year I have to make two batches because the first one never turns out right. (My candy thermometer was broken.) This is a great recipe! I'll make these again, each year for Christmas. They're great to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This recipe tastes very delicious. It has a wonderful buttery richness. I halved the recipe and used an 8 x 8 pan, and it still turned out well. I didn't have a candy thermometer, but luckily I didn' cook it too longt; it has the perfect, chewy consistency. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I have never, ever experienced homemade caramels that were this unbelievably delicious!!!!!!!!!! The flavor and the texture were both PERFECT. I followed the recipe EXACTLY, and all I used was one of those cheap candy thermometers you buy at the grocery store. A word of caution: Use a LARGE heavy saucepan; the mixture expands quite a bit as it gets hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I made this recipe and everyone loved it. I substituted splenda for the sugar and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Excellent recipe! This recipe has become one of my holiday favorites. It always gets rave reviews and requests for the recipe. I have been doubling the recipe (using a nice thick copper bottom pot) and adding several cups of toasted pecan pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Hmmm. At high altitude (5800 feet) the carmel was overdone at 242 degrees. Next time I am going to do the drop test sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Well worth the time and effort, my family LOVED these caramels. The first time they came out way too hard, so I let them cool, melted them down and brought them back to the right temperature. I added pecans, and heating the mixture again didn't hurt the nuts. Remember to calibrate your thermometer in a pot of boiling water, I live at a really high altitude and my thermometer was off by 12 entire degrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States