Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These have wonderful flavor and are relatively simple to make but the temp is a bit off. I cooked to the reco temp and mine are still a bit chewy but kind of hard (I was hoping for a softer candy) so next time I will test during the end stage rather than relying on the temperature. With some experimenting this will make for a nice solid recipe =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I really enoyed this recipe "as is". I read several reviews were people had problems with the consistancy of the caramel. 245 t0 250 degrees is the standard for firm ball stage at sea level. If you are above sea level then you should use your thermometer to see at what temperature water boils at your altitude. You then subtract that temperature from the standard of 212 degrees that water boils at sea level. Using that differential, subtract it from the standard 245-250 firm ball stage and that will give you a more accurate temperature of what the firm ball stage is at your altitude. EXAMPLE: I live at 4700 ft. water boils here at 213 degrees. For firm ball at my altitude I shoot for 236 to 241 degrees. Also, you should shut the heat off a few degrees early as the temperature will continue to rise even after you remove it from the heat. I hope that this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I used half the butter that the recipe called for and no vanilla. I was really pleased with the results. When the caramel was cool enough to the touch but still pliable, I ripped off pieces and rolled them into little balls. When the balls were completely cool, I bathed them in good, melted chocolate and left them to cool. Wow! Little caramel chocolate poppers... what a treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
One word is enough. AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
just as good as Caramels... less ingredients, so I like that alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These are very tasty...at least the part stuck to my spatula was! They are in the fridge cooling as I type. I cooked on low so I didn't burn the caramels, but it took over an hour to get to 242. I cranked the heat up gradually to get it to boil faster, but still kept it no higher than level four on my cooktop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
So Yummy- easy to make and delicious! I'm making my second batch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
First, I only use 1 cup corn syrup. I boil the sugar (1/2 brown sugar) and corn syrup to 350 degrees, then remove from heat and add butter (only about 1 stick, usually less) and 1 tsp. salt. Then I add the cream to the mixture, but I heat it first. Add the hot cream in a slow stream while stirring constantly, then return to the heat and boil to 250 degrees. Comes out perfect every time. Pour into greased 11 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
My husband, my coworkers and I really dig this recipe. The caramels are fresh, buttery, smooth and addictive. I changed one thing about the recipe, however, and added another step - first, I cook it just a little longer to 245 degrees as opposed to 245. Also, I found that if I "polish" the cut caramels with corn starch that they aren't so greasy. I do this by coating each one in corn starch and letting them sit for 10-15 minutes and then wiping off the cornstarch with a cloth or paper towel. The starch absorbs the excess grease without changing the flavor or consistency. This also makes them less apt to stick to the wrapper or plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHALOZBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I am a big fan of homemade caramels and these were wonderful! The recipe is simple to make and everone loved it. My only advise would be to use a digital thermometer and remove right at exactly 242 degrees. Any sooner and they are very soft, buttery and not as caramelly (but still tasty). Any later and they are very hard to cut and chew (but still very tasty!). I made these for Christmas gifts and they were very loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States