Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
this recipe didn't work for me. i tried it with my friend and the carmel turned to hard to bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These were butttery and had a nice smooth texture, but they didn't take on the deep caramel flavor I was looking for. I would try this recipe again with more sugar and less corn syrup, as 1 1/2 cups isn't really necessary to keep the sugar from crystallizing and it doesn't bring that deep caramel flavor. That being said, this recipe results in a nice light, buttery, caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I was hugely dissapointed. The caramels just taste like corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I gave this five stars,My first time making this recipe and it turned out wonderful my boys absolutely loved it,this one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I lovemyfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Wow! Everyone just gobbled these down! I dipped them in melted dark Giradellis chocolate and they disappeared! The best part...I have TMJ and I could eat these!!!!!! Followed exact recipe and they were very soft and creamy! Five stars to the contributor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Great recipe! I took the advice of other reviewers and instead of 2 cups white sugar I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. Note: watch the temperature carefully, if it's too hot then the caramel will be too hard! Next time I will maybe coat with chocolate and top with a bit of sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI5678

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
excellent recipe-I am always nervous about making caramels because they are an exact science-cook them below the exact temp and they are too soft/cook them too long and they are hard candy. I followed recipe exactly and they were perfect!!! thanks sooo much!!they were a big hit at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This makes amazing caramels! Just as good (if not better) than the boutique caramels you buy for a high price. I made these and gave them in a gift bag to my colleagues for a Christmas present and they were a big hit. I did have to heat them to the "hard ball stage" as I followed the recipe exactly the first time and they came out too runny, but at the hard ball stage, they were perfect caramels. I will be making this recipe every year for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
yammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abou ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These were wonderful caramels!!! I did follow others recomendation and cut butter to 3/4 c. They took 1 1/2 hrs to cook, but so much easier than my other recipe that you have to stir for an hour. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States