Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe and I was so happy because I had all the ingredients on hand. I added 1 tsp vanilla to the mixture, and a little bit of water (maybe 2-3 Tbs). I was using it for dipping apple slices in to make caramel apples at an activity. I stirred it almost constantly, and I turned off the heat as soon as it started to get a little sticky (no thermometer) instead of just runny. I was worried at first because I didn't think it was supposed to boil, but then I realized that it needed to boil a bit first. It is a little sweeter than most caramels, but that's good to me cause the other ones make me gag. Even my husband, who isn't a caramel fan, said it was one of the best he's had. I took it to the activity, along with the traditional melted square caramels dip, and this one was completely gone at the end, and I still had most of the other one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I *love* this recipe and make it with my own condensed milk to keep it corn-syrup free. It looks like a lot of the reviewers didn't make this right! The trick with most all candies is to leave them alone ... stirring or scraping is what makes grainy candy that doesn't set up. Also - do not trust your thermometer, they're frequently inaccurate and cannot account for environmental factors. The cold water in a cup is a much better gauge and never fails me! Next time, just let it cook then dump it out in the pan; it's absolutely perfect :) Excellent recipe, can't wait to make more for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aminah Sheríf
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Best caramel recipe ever! My light brown sugar was a bit chunky so after adding all the ingredients together in the sauce pan I put everything in the blender to smooth everything up. After that, I returned it to the heat and cooked as directed. It was amazingly creamy! Easy to do, to cut and didn't last long! Definitely making more! Thanks you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Finally! A caramel recipe that doesn't require corn syrup. Those of us with corn allergies salute you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Really good, espacially if you are allergic to corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Linda, Thank you for this recipe! I am a really busy Mom that needed to adjust my candy making time but keep the quality as good as the longer versions. These caramels are excellent! Easy to cut and smooth and rich to eat! BUT the best part is these are so easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Just a quick comment to the readers that had sugary caramel... NEVER under any circumstances scrape the pan. The tiny sugar crystals on the sides of the pan can and will crystalize your caramel, resulting in a grainy, yucky caramel. Return it to the pan and boil it on medium-low just until the sugar crystals are dissolved, about 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
If you heat this long enough it can be good to make lollipops. Only thing I changed was I used less white sugar and more brown sugar, I eyeballed it so maybe difference of taking away a third of the white and adding 2/3 more brown. And I sprinkle kosher salt with the brown sugar it gives that sweet salty taste like in those expensive seasalt caramels. It didn't come out grainy at all. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Rich and creamy! I think the secret is to melt the butter, then add the sugars. Add the condensed milk last, when the sugars have mostly melted. Also, I used dark brown sugar instead of light, and only used 3/4 cup of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I'm not sure why other reviewers didn't stir their caramel mixture while cooking? It doesn't say not to! Anyway, my caramels turned out delicious! I turned off the heat once my mixture hit 245 degrees F because the temperature keeps rising once the heat is off. I poured my mixture in a buttered glass dish and refrigerated. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States