Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This recipe didn't turn out for me at all. I too noticed a grainy texture in the final product, and weird flavor. I ended up throwing all of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I was glad to find this recipe because I didn't have any corn syrup on hand. I followed the directions and even used my candy thermometer but was disapointed because they turned to sugar - grainy, not chewy at all. I have never had caramel do that before. Tasted okay but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Recipe is too sweet and does not taste as good as other caramels. Cooked it to 260 but never got hard enough. Go with a recipe that calls for cream and corn syrup (it will be much better and not as sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
i found this recipie to be way too sweet and it never became the correct texture. Perhaps i did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Linda, Thank you for this recipe! I am a really busy Mom that needed to adjust my candy making time but keep the quality as good as the longer versions. These caramels are excellent! Easy to cut and smooth and rich to eat! BUT the best part is these are so easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I don't know if I did something wrong, but this recipe didn't work for me at all. It turned out very hard, crumbly, and way too sweet. I had better luck with another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Really good, espacially if you are allergic to corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This is my favorite caramel recipe because it's so much faster than the original that calls for cream. I've been making this for years and it's never failed! A must for the holidays - good for caramel apples too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States