Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This turned out to be Carmel fudge. They tasted ok for Carmel fudge but I will continue to search for a Carmel recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I *love* this recipe and make it with my own condensed milk to keep it corn-syrup free. It looks like a lot of the reviewers didn't make this right! The trick with most all candies is to leave them alone ... stirring or scraping is what makes grainy candy that doesn't set up. Also - do not trust your thermometer, they're frequently inaccurate and cannot account for environmental factors. The cold water in a cup is a much better gauge and never fails me! Next time, just let it cook then dump it out in the pan; it's absolutely perfect :) Excellent recipe, can't wait to make more for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
i followed the recipe and while the caramel was hot, it looked good. i did the water test multiple times and each time the caramel resembled actual caramel, but when i poured the caramel to cool it started to look less shiny the cooler it got and by the time it was room temperature, it was caramel flavored FUDGE. i did not find it very enjoyable, i couldn't even get the little kids to eat some. they were not happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Rich and creamy! I think the secret is to melt the butter, then add the sugars. Add the condensed milk last, when the sugars have mostly melted. Also, I used dark brown sugar instead of light, and only used 3/4 cup of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe didn't blend very well - we have brown specks throughout. My daughter checked the temperature with our new candy thermometer - but it just didn't ccok up as nicely as we expected. While it tastes good - we won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atlasnamy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
If you heat this long enough it can be good to make lollipops. Only thing I changed was I used less white sugar and more brown sugar, I eyeballed it so maybe difference of taking away a third of the white and adding 2/3 more brown. And I sprinkle kosher salt with the brown sugar it gives that sweet salty taste like in those expensive seasalt caramels. It didn't come out grainy at all. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I'll admit that I am a first time caramel (candy) maker, but I did not care for this. I mean... how do you get the sugars to melt to 250 degrees without burning the sugar? (Yes I have a candy thermometer.) Stiring obviously made it worse. Not only was it grainy, but it had burnt chunks it it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mendi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Finally! A caramel recipe that doesn't require corn syrup. Those of us with corn allergies salute you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I was really unhappy with the results of these caramels, they are sugary texture and I threw out the whole pan. Use the recipe that has corn syrup in it!!! I learned the hard way...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Just a quick comment to the readers that had sugary caramel... NEVER under any circumstances scrape the pan. The tiny sugar crystals on the sides of the pan can and will crystalize your caramel, resulting in a grainy, yucky caramel. Return it to the pan and boil it on medium-low just until the sugar crystals are dissolved, about 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States