Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The flavor would have been nice if it weren't for the grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aminah Sheríf
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Best caramel recipe ever! My light brown sugar was a bit chunky so after adding all the ingredients together in the sauce pan I put everything in the blender to smooth everything up. After that, I returned it to the heat and cooked as directed. It was amazingly creamy! Easy to do, to cut and didn't last long! Definitely making more! Thanks you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Wish I had used a double boiler. Sugar burned to bottom of pan and I got hardened caramelized sugar throughout the mixture. My fault. I don't use thermometers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Should have better instructions especially for first time caramel makers,you have to melt the sugar on a low temp. and slowly.You also have to scrape up the bottom of the pan before the sugar burns otherwise you will have black flecks of burnt sugar in your caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I wish I had listened to the reviews that it turned out grainy. I saw a review saying that theirs did not, so I gave it a try. I stirred mine almost constantly and it was grainy. It also just had a sweet flavor, not really a caramel flavor. This is not what I was hoping for at all. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe and I was so happy because I had all the ingredients on hand. I added 1 tsp vanilla to the mixture, and a little bit of water (maybe 2-3 Tbs). I was using it for dipping apple slices in to make caramel apples at an activity. I stirred it almost constantly, and I turned off the heat as soon as it started to get a little sticky (no thermometer) instead of just runny. I was worried at first because I didn't think it was supposed to boil, but then I realized that it needed to boil a bit first. It is a little sweeter than most caramels, but that's good to me cause the other ones make me gag. Even my husband, who isn't a caramel fan, said it was one of the best he's had. I took it to the activity, along with the traditional melted square caramels dip, and this one was completely gone at the end, and I still had most of the other one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Easy to make,delioious to taste........ It takes 15-20 minutes to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Even though I don't have a candy thermometer, I have never had a problem making caramels. I always just judge by ball stage. This one turned out grainy and I had to avoid scraping the burnt sugar off the bottom of the pan. It doesn't melt the sugar before it gets to the point of burning, no matter how slowly to heat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Didn't turn out for me. Tasted ok but was grainy. I'd like more specific instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I'm not sure why other reviewers didn't stir their caramel mixture while cooking? It doesn't say not to! Anyway, my caramels turned out delicious! I turned off the heat once my mixture hit 245 degrees F because the temperature keeps rising once the heat is off. I poured my mixture in a buttered glass dish and refrigerated. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States