Caramelized Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This really is fabulous. I love turnips even raw, but my husband is the pickiest eater on the planet and we were fighting over who got the last helping! I did replace the white sugar with brown sugar in my recipe, and I probably only used about 1 1/2 tbsp of it, but we are not sugar people and I use less sugar in every recipe. Really fabulous. SO easy and different. Can't wait to make it again and my husband can't wait either! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslolaramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars because it provided me a way to eat some of the turnips in my garden without gagging! Very good. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used beef bullion as opposed to chicken bullion for a bit of a richer flavor. Also, 1/4 c water seemed a bit too little, so I increased it to 1/2 c. The end result was dynamite. Will *definitely* use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I had some fresh turnips in my CSA basket (community supported agriculture) this week and wanted to cook them but not mash them. This was great. I used honey to sweeten them instead of white sugar and added onions. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I think my three year old's response to this dish captures the spirit of most of the reviews I have read. When I told him they were caramelized turnips, he wrinkled up his little face and said "I don't like turnips." When I made him try one bite, he made a sour face when the spoon went in his mouth. Then about two seconds later, his face changed and he said "Hey, I like turnips." That's how I feel about caramelized turnips too. I should also note that I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. This is a great, simple recipe that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is such an easy recipe, I have given it out while checking out at the grocery. You wouldn't believe the positive response I've received to this recipe. My adult daughter who usually turns her nose up to turnips love it. I am thinking of adding carrots for the color next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't know what to do with my CSA turnips and decided on this one after reading the reviews. I used chicken broth instead of water & bouillion. I had more turnips so I used a full can of broth. I added onions as suggested. Next time I may try the brown sugar or honey, but it was excellent as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gertrude Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This recipe is a no-brainer and very tasty. I made it with brown sugar and hubby and I thought it was delish! He kept walking through the kitchen while it was cooking, commenting on how good it smelled. He had two helpings and then went back to clean out the pan. I think this recipe would work equally well with rutabegas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
A good way to get picky people to eat them. I added more butter and next time I'll use brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Delicious! I had some turnip greens that I chopped up and put in with the turnips at the beginning, and then also added a diced pear toward the end, but I don't know that that made any difference. I've managed to eat turnips before, but this is the first time I've really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States