Caramelized Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I had some fresh turnips in my CSA basket (community supported agriculture) this week and wanted to cook them but not mash them. This was great. I used honey to sweeten them instead of white sugar and added onions. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't know what to do with my CSA turnips and decided on this one after reading the reviews. I used chicken broth instead of water & bouillion. I had more turnips so I used a full can of broth. I added onions as suggested. Next time I may try the brown sugar or honey, but it was excellent as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gertrude Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This really is fabulous. I love turnips even raw, but my husband is the pickiest eater on the planet and we were fighting over who got the last helping! I did replace the white sugar with brown sugar in my recipe, and I probably only used about 1 1/2 tbsp of it, but we are not sugar people and I use less sugar in every recipe. Really fabulous. SO easy and different. Can't wait to make it again and my husband can't wait either! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslolaramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This recipe is a no-brainer and very tasty. I made it with brown sugar and hubby and I thought it was delish! He kept walking through the kitchen while it was cooking, commenting on how good it smelled. He had two helpings and then went back to clean out the pan. I think this recipe would work equally well with rutabegas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars because it provided me a way to eat some of the turnips in my garden without gagging! Very good. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is such an easy recipe, I have given it out while checking out at the grocery. You wouldn't believe the positive response I've received to this recipe. My adult daughter who usually turns her nose up to turnips love it. I am thinking of adding carrots for the color next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I used 1 rutabaga and 1 turnip. I also made it a vegetarian dish by using vegetable boullion. This recipe is a wonderful alternative to roasting and not having to heat up the whole house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used beef bullion as opposed to chicken bullion for a bit of a richer flavor. Also, 1/4 c water seemed a bit too little, so I increased it to 1/2 c. The end result was dynamite. Will *definitely* use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I hate turnips, but got some from my CSA. Instead of giving them away - of letting them rot with the best of intentions of getting around to cooking them - I actually found this recipe and tried it. I can't say I love them, but they are perfectly edible! IF it can make me eat them, trust me, it's a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These were pretty good - trying to eat more veggies and this is a good way to have turnips. Make sure you use a big enough pan because the first time I made this, I used too small of a pan and they never caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States