Caramelized Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I had some fresh turnips in my CSA basket (community supported agriculture) this week and wanted to cook them but not mash them. This was great. I used honey to sweeten them instead of white sugar and added onions. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
A pleasant surprise. My cooking usually is awful, but following this recipe for my CSA (farm share) turnips gave me confidence that I am capable of creating decent food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars because it provided me a way to eat some of the turnips in my garden without gagging! Very good. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is such an easy recipe, I have given it out while checking out at the grocery. You wouldn't believe the positive response I've received to this recipe. My adult daughter who usually turns her nose up to turnips love it. I am thinking of adding carrots for the color next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This really is fabulous. I love turnips even raw, but my husband is the pickiest eater on the planet and we were fighting over who got the last helping! I did replace the white sugar with brown sugar in my recipe, and I probably only used about 1 1/2 tbsp of it, but we are not sugar people and I use less sugar in every recipe. Really fabulous. SO easy and different. Can't wait to make it again and my husband can't wait either! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslolaramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't know what to do with my CSA turnips and decided on this one after reading the reviews. I used chicken broth instead of water & bouillion. I had more turnips so I used a full can of broth. I added onions as suggested. Next time I may try the brown sugar or honey, but it was excellent as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gertrude Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was alright. Still can't get past the bitterness of cooked turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This recipe is a no-brainer and very tasty. I made it with brown sugar and hubby and I thought it was delish! He kept walking through the kitchen while it was cooking, commenting on how good it smelled. He had two helpings and then went back to clean out the pan. I think this recipe would work equally well with rutabegas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Very simple straightforward flavor - just sweet. Still good, though, if you have turnips to get through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used beef bullion as opposed to chicken bullion for a bit of a richer flavor. Also, 1/4 c water seemed a bit too little, so I increased it to 1/2 c. The end result was dynamite. Will *definitely* use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States