Caramelized Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is fantastic! Be sure to pick turnips on the small to medium size....large ones can be woody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I also used fresh CSA turnips. I barely had enough for 1 cup and I substituted brown sugar instead of white. My husband LOVED this. I have to admit that neither of my kids or myself liked this dish. However I only like turnips in stews. But it was good to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Really yummy! I think it needs just a little more water and time to simmer but otherwise it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
not sure what went wrong here, but this recipe did not work for me at all. I had to add broth multiple times and it still kept cooking dry and ended up burning without the turnips ever getting tender. I followed the recipe exactly. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was quite good. The first few bites were great . . . by the time I cleared my plate, though, I'd grown just a tad bored of it. I will likely make this again, but certainly not as often and as enthusiastically as I'll make the kashmiri-style kidney beans from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Pretty good for turnips. I added some sweet onions that added to the caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Yummy! My first time trying turnips and it was positive, although I feel I wouldn't be a big fan of them raw. Thanks, this was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These turned out great! I received turnips in my CSA share and decided to try this recipe out. I took the advice of previous reviewers and added thinly sliced onions and bacon, and substituted honey for the sugar. Also I used chicken broth instead of the water/chicken bouillon. Even my kids ate these which means I'll make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Good - but a bit sweet for me. Added a touch of sea salt and lots of coarse black pepper to spice it up a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was so yummy, and I love how it didn't require a lot of ingredients. I used a beef bouillon cube since I didn't have chicken and used sucralose (e.g. Splenda) for the sugar. I made a double batch and threw in 1/4 cup cooked quinoa, which added a nice nuttiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States