Caramelized Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
The technique was great for bringing a great texture and moderating the bitterness of the turnips, but it was just too sweet for us. (I make desserts that are less sugary...) I did modify it quite a bit, instead of adding all that sugar I added just a little as well as cumin, garlic powder and black pepper and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Awesome way to cook turnips. I cooked come bacon and diced it and then used the bacon grease with a pat of butter to carmelize. Used brown sugar and onions and it was delis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
A yummy twist to turnip. However I added the onion as others suggested and cannot imagine there being enough flavour without it. I also needed to add 10 minutes to the cooking time although my pieces were very small. I accidentallyy went overboard with the sugar and it was very sweet. I would not recommend increasing the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Yum! I've never had a turnip before (I know, strange), so I thought I would try this as a "safe bet." Amazing! I'm so excited to try other things, but I know this will be a standout recipe for us. The only problem I had was getting the turnips to color; by the time they had any color they had cooked to such a soft consistancy they were difficult to stir. I'll probably try to just caramelize them from the beginning and forgo the simmering first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Yum! You won't believe how good this is...it doesn't even taste like turnips! A great way to use up a lot of produce from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was my first attempt at turnips and a total flop. I followed the directions and even added onion and used brown sugar as suggested by others. They never caramelized and just ended up mushy. On top of the bad consistancy, they had a total lack of flavor. I won't try turnips again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Peyton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious! I had to add another 1/4 cup water after the first evaporated because the turnips still weren't tender, but I'm guessing that will depend upon your turnips and how small you cut them. Will definitely be making this again, I have never liked turnips before, but had to get rid of some. I'm glad I did, I really liked them cooked this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
We love this recipe!! A great way to enhance the flavour of a turnip and compliment any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
What a great way to use Turnips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Utterly Fantastic! However, we cheated and substituted in one crucial ingredient.... We were inspired by both this recipe and the Glazed Fall Root recipe. We wanted the simplicity of one root, but incorporated balsamic vinegar from that recipe, at which point, we didn't think we needed the chicken broth. The result, less water, and more of a stir fry.... and....? Wow! This is now our family's favorite way to prepare turnips. We like the Turnip Casserole, we even like Turnips as oven fries with things like Bratwurst sandwiches, and they are fine mixed in with mashed potatoes, sadly I'm the only one in the house who likes turnips more than celery with our favorite cranberry dipping sauce - but I adore turnips that way too..... , .... oh, and the all around benefit of including turnips in stews goes without saying, but by far, this recipe, with the addition of balsamic vinegar, is TOPS in our home!!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States