Caramelized Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My husband and I did not like this recipe. Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I fixed this tonight and my husband and I argued about who got the last bit! Only change I made was I cooked the turnips in beef broth that I made because I'm allergic to most broths and bouillon cubes that are on the market. Tasted great and we will be making it many times from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I LOVED THESE!! The "old man" thought differently...but he did eat them...I grew up eating turnips...grandma made them often. I thought they were delicious!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
These were fantastic! Had some turnips in my CSA box and thought I'd try my hand at cooking them for the first time. I'm so glad I tried this recipe instead of hiding them away in a soup! I substituted brown sugar for the white, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. So good. I will be trying this for other root veggies and may add onion next time. Thanks to Lynn for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Absolutely delicious recipe. :) I'll be making this one again for sure. It should probably be noted, on my part, that I had no chicken bouillon at the time, so I used beef bouillon instead. But it turned out extremely tasty. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkitten
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This was a hit at Thanksgiving! I should have made twice the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Didn't think I liked turnips very much, but I could eat these every day! Followed directions exactly and came out great! I think onions would add good flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Awesome turnips!! I've only had turnips raw or in soup, and have been looking to find an interesting way to prepare them as a veggie side dish - this is it! I used chicken stock, because I had it on hand, and used 1 Tablespoon brown sugar instead of 2 Tablespoons white – just a preference. Prepared them as instructed, and they disappeared almost as fast as the dish was set on the table! I also have made them with some chunky diced onion, and we love them prepared both ways. People who said they didn’t like turnips, and were smart enough to try these have now changed their minds. This is a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very simple but so tasty. The butter and sugar bring out the flavor of turnips without any bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
A vegetarian friend who disliked turnips really liked these. I didn't use the chicken bouillon cube, just plain water, and added a bit more butter plus salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States