Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yum! I "hate" plain old pumpkin seeds but these are awesome. I didn't quite follow the directions...I melted the butter and brown sugar, added the spices and then the seeds and roasted them for about 20 mins. Then I spread them on aluminum foil (didn't have any parchment paper) and sprinkled them with white sugar. They are crunchy, caramelly goodness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Can't say I was ever a huge pumpkin seeds fan until I tried this recipe. Holy cow, they are so addictive. Definitely agree that brown sugar is the way to go. Good stuff! Thanks, Theresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wow! My sons like roasted pumpkin seeds a little, my husband not at all. We never did this in my house growing up so I like to do it now. I love that it's sort of healthy. I've always just done the salted and seasoned kind...never any with sugar. These came out great. The flavor is very good. I got my sugar carmalizing in a little butter before adding the seeds, tossed them in the spices, threw it back in the warm oven for just a minute (to see if I could make them crunchier) and let the boys try them. I'm buying another pumpkin today so I can try to get the seeds a bit crunchier but the taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My kids (ages 3 & 5) and I LOVE this recipe! I too used brown sugar in the pan as others suggested and they came out awesome! I had to roast mine in the oven a bit longer than suggested and I ended up bumping up the temp to 400, next time I'll prob do 10-15 mins at 400 - just because its quicker. I will be keeping this recipe and making it for years to come I'm sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Four stars only because I use 2 T sugar in the spice mixture instead of 3--but these are SO ADDICTIVE! I brought a huge container to a Thanksgiving potluck this year, and they were completely gone by the time I left. Such a cool way to prepare pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Not my favorite. I think I had to have made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS!! devoured almost instantly by the family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I HATE pumpkin seeds, and I used to think I meant that. I've been living by "waste not, want not" and I decided this year to toast and eat my seeds, despite my aversion to them. These were FABULOUS! I actually ended up adding 2 pinches - 1/4 tsp of the cayenne pepper, and upping the other spice amounts by a couple shakes, but they came out so delicious! I will never again throw out my pumpkin seeds! I only wish you could buy more raw ones in bulk! (minus the pumpkin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makes.cakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
thoroughly enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These are a yummy snack. (Made after Mrs Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie.) Sweet with a spicy kick after. Nice change from regular salted or garlic roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States