Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So this is my first time ever making pumpkin seeds. Also my first time ever caramelizing anything. So I saw that a lot of you liked it better with brown sugar so I gave that a try but I guess brown sugar doesn't melt down as fast as white sugar does because I cooked it for almost ten minutes and it just wouldn't melt. So next time instead of putting the pumpkin seeds in with the brown sugar to melt I will cook down the sugar then put in the pumpkin seeds. Other than this they are awesome Just like candy but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffymb
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
So absolutely delicious! Used minimal sugar and replaced it with Trader Joe's maple syrup and a splash of vanilla extract. Also didn't use ground cinnamon and made sure to use chopped ginger root. The seeds burned a little while in the frying pan, but that turned out to be beneficial for stronger flavor. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffymb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Five stars! This is the best pumpkin seed recipe I have ever tried! It is very flavorful with the sugar and spices. I didn't change a thing and they turned out perfect. They were not around long before we devoured them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this three times this fall!! First I think my pumpkin seeds actually measured 2 1/2 cups, and I soaked them in heavy salt water 24 hours. Make sure you allow the seeds to DRY! I did change the baking time to about an hour as I like mine really toasted! Two of the times I changed the sugar to dark brown sugar (just the sugar you caramelize) Plus adding 2 tbls olive oil and 1 tbls butter to the pan. You have to stir this constantly and just when everything is coated get it into the other sugar. When I made this per directions it was just as good! I did what others said with the cayenne by making it a 1/4 tsp. I'm told to keep making it this way!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osseo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very good! We can't stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A reduced the sugar with 1 tbs. Can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The carmelization didn't work... 2 cups of seeds is a lot to pour into only two tablespoons of sugar. The spice mix is ok, but i was expecting something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very good! I don't usually have much luck with pumpkin seeds, but these were tasty. Much more sweet than spicy or savory, but they have a little kick at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
In step 4 I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. Also used lofat butter(lol) in the skillet instead of oil. Came out way better than the gross seeds I tried to make last year, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States