Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It tried this recipe as written, down to the end where you stir the seeds into the seasonings. I tasted them, and decided to add more cayenne to make them spicier. So much better with more cayenne if you like hotter/spicier stuff. I think I will cut the sugar down a little bit next time so they won't be as sweet. Chili powder would probably be good to use instead of the cayenne, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirin Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
absolutely delicious as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
i did like the other reviewers and used brown sugar instead of regular. I also added butter to the pan after finding the sugar wouldn't really dissolve. this was the first time I've made pumpkin seeds and i have to say my daughter and i loved it!! but my husband didn't. just a matter of personal preference, and i think it was the cumin, so maybe i would omit that next time. still, these were worth the extra effort. i will never throw away my pumpkin seeds again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So yummy! After reading the reviews, I added a few shakes of nutmeg, just under 1/4 tsp cayenne & subbed 1 tbs brown sugar in 1 tbs butter for the caramelizing. Delicious! These are going to become an annual staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Yum! Not SPICY but flavorful. I cut the sugar down by 1T and used a 50/50 mix of white to brown sugar. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Here's the thing with this recipe--the parchment paper kept my seeds from cooking properly! It took forever and they still weren't done, but I had already done the rest of the steps. No matter--the next day, I threw them back onto an ungreased cookie tray, seasonings and all, and baked them 30 minutes more at 350. Voilá! Perfection. So, cooking method was a bust for me, but since they turned out delicious in the end, I gotta go 5 stars!! Also, added double the cinnamon; it was a little heavy on the cumin for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J. Weir
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was a great recipe! Everyone loved them, but I did make a slight change. Instead of adding sugar to the olive oil, I swapped it out for approx the same amount of liquid BUTTER RUM flavoring syrup (as in the kind you would flavor a latte with). Gave the seeds a delicious fall flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Neither me nor my kids thought this was in ANY way good...Did not care for this at all, as it was WAY too much spice for such a little amount of seeds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
These are amazing! And we're a big hit at my fall party! Next time I'll try it with the brown sugar but they were amazing as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leyann Wiley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Lee Badgett
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Didn't rinse/clean seeds. More Punkin flavor. Instead off cayenne used McCormick perfect pinch southwest sweet n smokey salt free and no msg. Added brown sugar, 1 TB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States