Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
These turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It tried this recipe as written, down to the end where you stir the seeds into the seasonings. I tasted them, and decided to add more cayenne to make them spicier. So much better with more cayenne if you like hotter/spicier stuff. I think I will cut the sugar down a little bit next time so they won't be as sweet. Chili powder would probably be good to use instead of the cayenne, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirin Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
absolutely delicious as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
i did like the other reviewers and used brown sugar instead of regular. I also added butter to the pan after finding the sugar wouldn't really dissolve. this was the first time I've made pumpkin seeds and i have to say my daughter and i loved it!! but my husband didn't. just a matter of personal preference, and i think it was the cumin, so maybe i would omit that next time. still, these were worth the extra effort. i will never throw away my pumpkin seeds again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So yummy! After reading the reviews, I added a few shakes of nutmeg, just under 1/4 tsp cayenne & subbed 1 tbs brown sugar in 1 tbs butter for the caramelizing. Delicious! These are going to become an annual staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Yum! Not SPICY but flavorful. I cut the sugar down by 1T and used a 50/50 mix of white to brown sugar. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Here's the thing with this recipe--the parchment paper kept my seeds from cooking properly! It took forever and they still weren't done, but I had already done the rest of the steps. No matter--the next day, I threw them back onto an ungreased cookie tray, seasonings and all, and baked them 30 minutes more at 350. Voilá! Perfection. So, cooking method was a bust for me, but since they turned out delicious in the end, I gotta go 5 stars!! Also, added double the cinnamon; it was a little heavy on the cumin for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J. Weir
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was a great recipe! Everyone loved them, but I did make a slight change. Instead of adding sugar to the olive oil, I swapped it out for approx the same amount of liquid BUTTER RUM flavoring syrup (as in the kind you would flavor a latte with). Gave the seeds a delicious fall flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Neither me nor my kids thought this was in ANY way good...Did not care for this at all, as it was WAY too much spice for such a little amount of seeds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
These are amazing! And we're a big hit at my fall party! Next time I'll try it with the brown sugar but they were amazing as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leyann Wiley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States