Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So this is my first time ever making pumpkin seeds. Also my first time ever caramelizing anything. So I saw that a lot of you liked it better with brown sugar so I gave that a try but I guess brown sugar doesn't melt down as fast as white sugar does because I cooked it for almost ten minutes and it just wouldn't melt. So next time instead of putting the pumpkin seeds in with the brown sugar to melt I will cook down the sugar then put in the pumpkin seeds. Other than this they are awesome Just like candy but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffymb
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
So absolutely delicious! Used minimal sugar and replaced it with Trader Joe's maple syrup and a splash of vanilla extract. Also didn't use ground cinnamon and made sure to use chopped ginger root. The seeds burned a little while in the frying pan, but that turned out to be beneficial for stronger flavor. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffymb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Five stars! This is the best pumpkin seed recipe I have ever tried! It is very flavorful with the sugar and spices. I didn't change a thing and they turned out perfect. They were not around long before we devoured them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this three times this fall!! First I think my pumpkin seeds actually measured 2 1/2 cups, and I soaked them in heavy salt water 24 hours. Make sure you allow the seeds to DRY! I did change the baking time to about an hour as I like mine really toasted! Two of the times I changed the sugar to dark brown sugar (just the sugar you caramelize) Plus adding 2 tbls olive oil and 1 tbls butter to the pan. You have to stir this constantly and just when everything is coated get it into the other sugar. When I made this per directions it was just as good! I did what others said with the cayenne by making it a 1/4 tsp. I'm told to keep making it this way!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osseo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very good! We can't stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A reduced the sugar with 1 tbs. Can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The carmelization didn't work... 2 cups of seeds is a lot to pour into only two tablespoons of sugar. The spice mix is ok, but i was expecting something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very good! I don't usually have much luck with pumpkin seeds, but these were tasty. Much more sweet than spicy or savory, but they have a little kick at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
In step 4 I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. Also used lofat butter(lol) in the skillet instead of oil. Came out way better than the gross seeds I tried to make last year, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States