Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Almost perfect! I took the advice of a few reviewers below and decided to substitute 1T Brown Sugar for the white sugar when caramelizing. Used 1T butter instead of olive oil (not as healthy, but added A LOT more flavor and made the caramelization process more accurate). Instead of plopping everything into the pan together, I melted the butter, added both sugars and heated on medium-high till the sugars just barely started to caramelize. Then added the seeds and toasted, stirring regularly till they started to brown slightly and pop (about 5-min depending on temp under the pan). Added the coated seeds to a pan with the sugar/spice mixture and voila! Yummy, yummy! Even my fiancée, who doesn't like pumpkin seeds, likes these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Imilkowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe was great the only thing I added brown sugar to caramelize the seeds was a huge hit. They were gone in minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Completely addictive. The only thing I changed was to add a pinch of nutmeg. These are indeed very sweet, which suited me just fine, but if I were serving to more sophisticated palates, I would take the advice of those who recommend scaling back the sugar by a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
For as long as I can remember my Mom has cooked pumpkin seeds for us after carving pumpkins with the same old recipe. Now being on my own I decided to try a different recipe & this turned out great! I added my own variations like a tsp of garlic salt instead of just plain salt when toasting and I added extra cinnamon in place of the ginger and extra cayenne pepper and these turned out great. Even my boyfriend who never liked pumpkin seeds was surprised! I think this will be my new recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These were a little too sweet for me. Next time I would cut the sugar down to 2 Tablespoons. The kids loved them just they way the recipe is written though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I can't even imagine why this doesn't have a full 5 stars. These are amazing, so amazing that I don't even want regular salted ones anymore. My kids love these, and although I made it exactly as per directions... I can see how this is easily customizable to your liking, for instance, I think I want a little more cayenne next time. I love these, and when we run out I'm going to be sad to have to wait until next Halloween to have access to pumpkins again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
very bland. expected a spicy taste. Followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I just made these with our leftover jack'o'lantern seeds (2 large pumpkins). Delicious! I added a little fresh nutmeg to the spice mix. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
These were super good! I used 1 tsp of cayenne pepper instead of a pinch because I like a little heat. I also added a sprinkle of all spice and nutmeg for personal taste but I'm sure they would still be delicious without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These are a yummy snack. (Made after Mrs Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie.) Sweet with a spicy kick after. Nice change from regular salted or garlic roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States