Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Totally awesome, however, I used butter instead of olive oil too, made it much easier and yummy! This one is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Fantastic! I couldn't stop eating these. As reviewers suggested I used butter instead of police oil, but it turned out a bit greasy. Next time I will use half the butter. The spice mixture was delicious. Now I need to go buy another pumpkin so I can make more of these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Made them on Monday, finished them on Tuesday! Will follow the advice of others to substitute brown sugar and add nutmeg for one set but sticking with white sugar and more cayenne pepper on another set as I think the spicy was lost in the sweet. Also didn't have parchment paper but wax paper did just fine. My kids get more pumpkins and husband gets the rewards of carving with these sweet treats..just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Ok but considering there's a lot of sugar and extra work in this recipe, I don't like them that much better than straight out of the oven with a little salt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yum! I "hate" plain old pumpkin seeds but these are awesome. I didn't quite follow the directions...I melted the butter and brown sugar, added the spices and then the seeds and roasted them for about 20 mins. Then I spread them on aluminum foil (didn't have any parchment paper) and sprinkled them with white sugar. They are crunchy, caramelly goodness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Can't say I was ever a huge pumpkin seeds fan until I tried this recipe. Holy cow, they are so addictive. Definitely agree that brown sugar is the way to go. Good stuff! Thanks, Theresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wow! My sons like roasted pumpkin seeds a little, my husband not at all. We never did this in my house growing up so I like to do it now. I love that it's sort of healthy. I've always just done the salted and seasoned kind...never any with sugar. These came out great. The flavor is very good. I got my sugar carmalizing in a little butter before adding the seeds, tossed them in the spices, threw it back in the warm oven for just a minute (to see if I could make them crunchier) and let the boys try them. I'm buying another pumpkin today so I can try to get the seeds a bit crunchier but the taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My kids (ages 3 & 5) and I LOVE this recipe! I too used brown sugar in the pan as others suggested and they came out awesome! I had to roast mine in the oven a bit longer than suggested and I ended up bumping up the temp to 400, next time I'll prob do 10-15 mins at 400 - just because its quicker. I will be keeping this recipe and making it for years to come I'm sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Four stars only because I use 2 T sugar in the spice mixture instead of 3--but these are SO ADDICTIVE! I brought a huge container to a Thanksgiving potluck this year, and they were completely gone by the time I left. Such a cool way to prepare pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Not my favorite. I think I had to have made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States