Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These were delicious! Definitely NOT bland. I substituted the cayenne for 1/4 chili powder and used butter instead of oil. Other than that followed the recipe exactly. We LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Just made these and they are amazing! Will never make pumpkin seeds another way! Sweet, spicy and full of all sorts of flavour! I followed the recipe exactly, but followed some suggestions in the comments...used 2 TBSP of sugar instead of 3 (perfect sweetness), used salted butter instead of olive oil, added 1/4 nutmeg and I like a bit of heat so I used 1/2tsp cayenne and it was just right to have some spiciness but not overpowering! Going out to buy more pumpkins just to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Different! A sweet, spiced pumpkin seed. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Really yummy! A nice twist on pumpkin seeds. I'll definitely do this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Spectacular! I am used to the usual salty, roasted pumpkin seeds. These were a great change!! I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I added the brown sugar substitute like some reviews said to do, and I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used paprika and chili powder. If you want more heat at the end use chili powder! I used butter instead of oil which worked great and has good flavor. Also, I added another half tbs butter and another tbs of sugar for the caramelizing part just to add more coat to it. SOO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Omg!!! Soooo yummy! I can't stop eating them!! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Omg so good! I did follow the recommendation posted by others and substituted 2 Tablespoons brown sugar instead of the white sugar, added extra cayenne and they were amazing! I will be making this recpie every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Amazing!! I took advice from other reviews to use brown sugar and butter for the caramelization, but also added more white sugar as well (just didn't look like it was going to be enough). I also added some brown sugar and extra cayenne to the sugar-spice mix. Maybe some more cayenne next time, but still very good! I have a feeling these will be gone tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Amazing! The perfect amount of sweetness and kick, and the whole family loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, just using peanut oil instead of olive, because i didn't have any left. i also added a pinch of nutmeg. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States