Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Everytime we have (any) steak, my husband requests nothing other than onions & mushrooms (either sauteed or grilled..whatever) and since he LOVES red bell peppers, I decided to give this a try. I made it per recipe, but threw in 4 semi-chopped, portabella mushrooms. Not only did it smell great (I mean the dog sat & starred at me with his tail wagging) while cooking, but tasted great as well! I sprinkled a little garlic powder just for the heck of it (I didn't add the raisins). Thanks Crow, for the tasty steak topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This is wonderful!! I have made this dish at least 4 times since I got a new grill pan for Christmas. I can not believe the flavors. I have served this with Italian Sausage in sandwiches, and with grilled chicken and porkchops. Its a wonder there's any left, I pick onions out of the pan while they're cooking! I have used a little balsamic vinegar instead of wine, also a little chicken broth if I need a little more moisture. Experiment with your herbs - this is very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Wonderful! Easy! hits the spot -- served it over noodle nests - just great! Have made this several times. Change nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
absolutely loved this! i put it on top of steak and it was great! i don't know that i will make a steak without this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
ABSOLUTELY YUMMY! Didn't have red wine, so I used white and added a cup of halved mushrooms and a pinch of garlic; then spooned it over some baked chicken breasts. The husband loved it! Will definitely be making this again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hallsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This was surprisingly delicious. I was nervous about the raisins, but they absolutely made this dish - took it from ordinary to WOW. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I love this recipe! I had bought some mini red, orange and yellow bell peppers at the store and I was looking for a recipe on the allrecipe.com site and I found this one. I didn't have any red onions so I just used yellow ones. I wasn't sure how many peppers to cut up because they ranged in sized from a banana to a chili pepper. I also used more than a pinch of salt,pepper and basil. Then I added two pinches of fresh minced garlic. I baked some boneless pork chops in the oven with salt pepper and a tiny pinch of fresh minced garlic. Then I drizzled some extra virgin olive oil on top and when they were done I served them with the peppers on top. OH MY GOSH! As we ate this dish we couldn't imagine the peppers tasting better on anything else. Crow, you have a winner here with me. I wonder how some toasted pine nuts on top would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Absolutely lovely! Hubby loved it with some fresh foccacia bread. So easy and yummy. I used only oil, though, no butter and added some thyme as had no basil. I also added some balsamic vinegar instead of wine. Definetely one to make again and again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I liked this recipe alot. The red wine gives it a nice little kick. I accidently bought a yellow onion but it still came out just as good. The whole house was fuming with the sweet scent of the bell peppers. I threw in yellow bell peppers as well for more color. I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
MMmmm very very tastey!! Didn't have red pepper so used green.Still tasted lovely.I added this to another recipe i found on here chicken alfredo.Both tasted great together.Thank you for this yummy recipe x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanxnah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exeter, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

All About Bell Peppers

Enjoy colorful sweet peppers cooked or raw.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States