Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Great tasting! I also added some fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
MMmmm very very tastey!! Didn't have red pepper so used green.Still tasted lovely.I added this to another recipe i found on here chicken alfredo.Both tasted great together.Thank you for this yummy recipe x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanxnah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exeter, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was soo tasty! I did use the red wine & topped thik cut broiled pork chops w/ these...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I liked this recipe alot. The red wine gives it a nice little kick. I accidently bought a yellow onion but it still came out just as good. The whole house was fuming with the sweet scent of the bell peppers. I threw in yellow bell peppers as well for more color. I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Absolutely lovely! Hubby loved it with some fresh foccacia bread. So easy and yummy. I used only oil, though, no butter and added some thyme as had no basil. I also added some balsamic vinegar instead of wine. Definetely one to make again and again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Instead of dried basil, I used 2 Tblsp fresh basil added just a few minutes before cooking was complete. Cooked only about 15 min after adding wine so peppers still had some body...would be too mushy if cooked for 30 min. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This is wonderful!! I have made this dish at least 4 times since I got a new grill pan for Christmas. I can not believe the flavors. I have served this with Italian Sausage in sandwiches, and with grilled chicken and porkchops. Its a wonder there's any left, I pick onions out of the pan while they're cooking! I have used a little balsamic vinegar instead of wine, also a little chicken broth if I need a little more moisture. Experiment with your herbs - this is very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I love this recipe! I had bought some mini red, orange and yellow bell peppers at the store and I was looking for a recipe on the allrecipe.com site and I found this one. I didn't have any red onions so I just used yellow ones. I wasn't sure how many peppers to cut up because they ranged in sized from a banana to a chili pepper. I also used more than a pinch of salt,pepper and basil. Then I added two pinches of fresh minced garlic. I baked some boneless pork chops in the oven with salt pepper and a tiny pinch of fresh minced garlic. Then I drizzled some extra virgin olive oil on top and when they were done I served them with the peppers on top. OH MY GOSH! As we ate this dish we couldn't imagine the peppers tasting better on anything else. Crow, you have a winner here with me. I wonder how some toasted pine nuts on top would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This was surprisingly delicious. I was nervous about the raisins, but they absolutely made this dish - took it from ordinary to WOW. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This was good, a nice change from our ordinary vegetable side dishes - I added lots of garlic though, and a touch of balsamic vinegar. Mushrooms would have also made a nice addition. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

All About Bell Peppers

Enjoy colorful sweet peppers cooked or raw.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States