Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good flavor! I absolutely LOVE peppers and onions. Caramelizing with wine was good, and I used chopped FRESH basil, which is what makes this POP, I believe. Will surely make this again -- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Tasty side dish and a good way to get some veggies in without a lot of fuss. I have to confess that I used all butter because lately, I've just been on a butter kick, but next time I will do it exactly as written. Also, I didn't have any red wine at home, but I'm pretty sure that would take the recipe up a notch. I feel bad reviewing it and only giving 3 starts since I didn't follow as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Love this quick, easy and tasty side! We used red, yellow and orange peppers and vidalia onion and skipped the wine. This will be perfect with so many main dishes and we will absolutely make it often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
We have this often - Hubs is particularly fond of this side dish, particularly with a grilled steak, and it always adds such great color and interest to the dinner plate. I generally use a mix of colored bell peppers and minced garlic as well - I omitted the basil (because I forgot to use it) and didn't use the optional wine. This time I added half of a minced jalapeno pepper, basically to use it up - while it doesn't provide any heat (unless you were to include the seeds and membrane) it did add a nice punch of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Added raisins and used white wine vinegar instead of red wine. Really great over chicken. Even went well with mexican chicken flauntas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was a nice way to use up the peppers and onion I had on hand, but I didn't think it was anything special. I wouldn't go out of my way to make it, but if I already had the ingredients on hand I might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Soooo Amazingly good and sooooo adaptable to your tastes/situation. Ive tried this almost every way the reviews have suggested and it always turns out good. I make this about 6 times a month. It works on just about everything. Hamburgers, hotdogs, pork, steak, sausage, I even used it in an omelete once. You will find it hard to use veggies in a way that ends up tasting better than this. A+++ in my book. Wish I could give it more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentMewes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My wife is not a big onion eater...she polished off the leftovers the next day...excellent side dish...what i liked best about it is the color it adds to a plate and eases of preperation. adding the wine is a definite must also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Really tasty, even without the wine. We liked this with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
When you have about 1/3 each red pepper and yellow pepper, and only half a large onion cuz the other half is going bad, and one link of mild italian sausage..what do you make? THIS STUFF!! It's really good! I cooked up my sausage first, set aside and drained all but 1 tsp-ish of fat. Did my onions, set aside, then did the bell peppers for just 2 minutes. Added all back to pan, seasoned with parsley from the garden and 3 dashes of red pepper flakes... ahhh... devine. Just ate as is...no bread, no rice, just sausage and peppers. Most excellent. (I read that someone tossed food cuz it had mold? Heck, I just cut off the mold, scrub up the veggie, and cook it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

All About Bell Peppers

Enjoy colorful sweet peppers cooked or raw.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States